2012 election

3,000-plus voted early in Champaign County

URBANA — More than 3,000 Champaign County voters already had voted before Election Day under Illinois' absentee- and early-voting laws.

Republican votes cast outnumber Democrats more than 2-to-1 so far, according to Champaign County Clerk Gordy Hulten, who compiled the numbers Monday evening at the close of absentee voting.

Goetten reports $26,000 in contributions

Democratic congressional candidate Matt Goetten reported $26,000 in campaign contributions on Monday, the day before the primary election.

The final day bonanza is about 40 percent of what Goetten received in the two months between Jan. 1 and Feb. 29, the last Federal Election Commission reporting period.

Four write-in candidates in Tuesday primary

URBANA — There are four registered write-in candidates in Champaign County for Tuesday's primary election.

GOP candidate insists he is in the running for Congress

CHAMPAIGN — Frank Metzger was in Champaign Monday morning to insist that yes, he is still running for Congress.

Metzger, 70, a retired ironworker from Glen Carbon, is the third Republican candidate for Congress in the new 13th Congressional District. He is running against incumbent U.S. Rep. Tim Johnson, R-Urbana, and Michael Firsching of Moro.

3 Republican candidates compete in Champaign County Board District 1

Republicans in Champaign County Board District 1, which includes much of the northwestern quadrant of the county, have a three-way race Tuesday for two slots.

Races in newly drawn 13th District star old rivals and new faces

It's been awhile since voters in the congressional district that covers Champaign-Urbana had a primary election. For Republicans, the last one was in 2000, when Tim Johnson, then a state representative, won a four-way contest in the 15th Congressional District; for Democrats, it was in 2004.

Candidates for 13th Congressional District

Here is information about the 13th Congressional District candidates


Tim Johnson

65, of Urbana

incumbent 15th District congressman

Michael Firsching

55, of Moro


Frank L. Metzger

70, of Glen Carbon

retired ironworker

Vermilion County polling places

Here are polling places for Vermilion County and for Danville for the March 20 primary election.


This list shows the precinct, the polling place and its address

Blount 1, Blount Township Highway Bldg. 22217 Henning Road, Danville

Blount 2, Blount Township Highway Bldg. 22217 Henning Road,Danville

Primary elections on Tuesday

Polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday for primary elections throughout Illinois. 

Here is a link to the Champaign County clerk's office list of polling places in Champaign County.

Illinois Senate district races

Candidates for Champaign County Board District 1

Here are the candidates for Champaign County Board District 1.

Gary Maxwell

71, Mahomet

Retired civil engineer and land surveyor

Appointed to county board in 2011

Gerald W. Smith

58, Mahomet


Syndicate content