'Inextinguishable' concert set for Saturday night

'Inextinguishable' concert set for Saturday night

Concertgoers are invited to arrive early to listen to young musicians

URBANA — The Champaign-Urbana Symphony Orchestra will present the concert "Inextinguishable" at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at Krannert Center for the Performing Arts.

The season's third classics concert conducted by Stephen Alltop will feature orchestra concertmaster Igor Kalnin as soloist on the Ralph Vaughan Williams' piece, "The Lark Ascending."

Also on the program:

— Russell Peck's "Signs of Life."

— Richard Wagner's "Prelude and Transfiguration" from "Tristan and Isolde."

— Carl Nielsen's Symphony No. 4, aka "The Inextinguishable."

"This concert expresses the indomitability of life, love, the human spirit, and music itself," Alltop said. "Russell Peck's 'Signs of Life' is a scintillating work for strings that pulses with vitality. Vaughan Williams' 'The Lark Ascending' is one of the most poetic works ever written for solo violin.

"Wagner's 'Prelude and Transfiguration' from 'Tristan und Isolde' conveys love and longing in some of the most sumptuous music ever written. Carl Nielsen's Symphony No. 4 is a work of incredible drama and power. Written during World War I, the music moves seamlessly through several scenes of life to the triumphant conclusion in which two sets of timpani thunder forth from opposite sides of the stage."

Tickets are $35 for adults, $31 for senior citizens and $5 for students of all ages.

For ticket information, call 333-6280.

Concertgoers are invited to arrive early to hear performances from 6:40 to 7:10 p.m. at Stage 5 in the Krannert lobby by some of the talented young musicians receiving CUSO Guild scholarships to the Illinois Summer Youth Music camp.

Topics (1):Music


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments