40 North 88 West announces 2012 ACE Award winners

40 North 88 West announces 2012 ACE Award winners

Ta-da. Drum roll, please. 40 North 88 West has released the names of individuals and organizations that will receive the 2012 ACE Awards.

All seven ACE (Arts, Culture and Education) Award winners “embody the spirit of the local arts community with their passion, energy, and dedication to the creative culture of Champaign County,” the arts council said in a news release.

They will be honored at 5:30 p.m. Oct. 16 at the Canopy Club in Urbana. Anyone is welcome to attend. Tickets are $10 in advance and will be $15 at the door.

So here they are:
— Advocate ACE – Parkland College Art Gallery for expanding the community’s appreciation of various contemporary art forms by making the arts accessible to our culturally diverse community through exhibitions and programs. Congratulations to gallery director Lisa Costello, who does a great job.

— Artist ACE — Lisa Meid Hamelberg, creative director at Surface 51, for offering diverse community access to collaborative artistic endeavors that drive economic growth and encourage the practice of art professionally in Champaign County.

— Volunteer ACE – Jamie Gossett for his long-time, ardent support of the Champaign Park District’s Youth Theatre program.

— Business ACE Award – Adams Outdoor Advertising for its outstanding support of the arts through Sky Gallery — electronic billboards featuring art by local artists — and their dedication to enhancing the community.

— Teacher ACE – Betty Allen, Elementary dance and drama teacher for Urbana elementary schools, for her dedication to teaching the elements, skills and concepts of dance and drama, and her extensive involvement with the Urbana elementary fine arts program.

— Student ACE – Peyton Stewart, a 2012 graduate of The High School of St. Thomas More in Champaign and now a UI freshman in the College of Fine and Applied Arts. She was cited for her artistic talent and willingness to look for inventive ways for her art to impact her environment.

— Lifetime ACE: Ollie Watts Davis, University Scholar, professor and chair of the Voice Division of the UI School of Music for her tireless service as teacher and mentor for countless young people in the performing arts, and her lifetime of achievements in music and teaching.

The winners were chosen from public nominations by judges representing a cross-section of Champaign County: Karen Foster, Champaign City Council member, at large; Michele Plante, coordinator of career services, Career Services, UI College of Fine and Applied Art; Stacey Gross, Centennial High School fine arts teacher; Phil Strang, artist and Foellinger Auditorium manager; and Cynthia Johnson, Urbana Business Association executive director.

Tickets to the eighth annual ACE Awards are available online at www.40north.org or by calling 40 North at 351-9841. Tickets may be purchased in advance at the 40 North office at 106 S. Neil St., C.


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments