Daily dose: Local history, corn yields and county board terms awarded

Daily dose: Local history, corn yields and county board terms awarded

Local history

In 1912, Dr. J. Addison Brown, who is in charge of the automobile exhibit at the Champaign County Fairgrounds, said this morning there would be 30 to 35 cars exhibited in the biggest tent erected on the fairgrounds, covering an area 80 by 120 feet. Such a large exhibit means that virtually every auto agency in Champaign County will be represented in the exhibit.

In 1962, the state Agriculture Department indicates that a combination of slightly greater plantings and significantly increased yields will produce larger crops in Illinois this fall. The estimated yield for corn in all of Illinois this year is 79 bushels an acre, exceeding last year’s all-time record by 2 bushels. The soybean yield is projected to be 29 bushels, half a bushel over 1961.

As a comparison, here's this year's estimated average corn yield in Illinois -- in a drought year.

From Bloomberg Business ...

Corn yields in Illinois were estimated at 121.6 bushels an acre, while in western Iowa fields averaged 146.5 bushels, Pro Farmer Midwest Crop Tour findings showed yesterday. The U.S. Department of Agriculture has pegged Illinois corn yields at 116 bushels and Iowa at 141 bushels statewide. Drought spurred the USDA to slash its domestic crop outlook on Aug. 10 to a six-year low, sending corn prices to a record $8.49 a bushel in Chicago.


County board terms

They held a drawing at Thursday's county board meeting to decide who on the board would have two-year terms beginning in December 2012 and who would have four-year terms.

The drawing was somewhat prospective because, of course, no one knows who will win some of these county board district races.

The important thing to note, though, is that the last names listed in each column are the candidates more likely to get a four-year term. Conversely,  the names closer to the top of each listing are the ones most likely to get a two-year term.

Take District 2, for example, where there are no Democratic candidates on the ballot. The very likely result of the November election is that Diane Michaels will have a four-year term and Stan James will get a two-year term.

Here's the sort of "priority" list, including the term "write-in candidate," just in case a write-in candidate was to enter, and possibly win, one of these races:

District 1

Gary Maxwell, R

write-in candidate 2

write-in candidate 1

Eric Thorsland, D

Eugenia Wason, D

John Jay, R

District 2

write-in 2

Stan James, R

Diane Michaels, R

write-in 1

District 3

Aaron Esry, R

Stanley Harper, R

write-in 2

write-in 1

District 4

Jim McGuire, R

write-in 1

Jon Schroeder, R

write-in 2

District 5

Max Mitchell, R

Brad Diehl, D

write-in 1

Tracy Luchik, D

Jeff Kibler, R

write-in 2

District 6

Pattsi Petrie, D

Josh Hartke, D

write-in 1

write-in 2

District 7

Alan Kurtz, D

Rachel Schwartz, D

write-in 2

write-in 1

District 8

Sher Hampel, R

write-in 2

Michael Richards, D

write-in 1

Geraldo Rosales, D

District 9

Ralph Langenheim, D

Astrid Berkson, D

write-in 1

write-in 2

District 10

Chris Alix, D

write-in 2

write-in 1

James Quisenberry, D

District 11

Lorraine Cowart, D

write-in 1

write-in 2

Lloyd Carter, D









News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments