Illinois prep players in the Big Ten

Illinois prep players in the Big Ten

Tim Beckman wants to ensure a large majority of Illinois high school football prospects wind up in Champaign-Urbana.

It's a goal past Illinois coaches have strived for, with varied degrees of success.

It's a message Beckman and his staff continue to preach not only for the upcoming Class of 2014, but also the Class of 2015 and Class of 2016.

Of course, Illinois can't nab every top 50 player it has in the state in every class.

There's not enough scholarships to go around.

Of the 114 players on the Illinois roster heading into Saturday's night home game with Wisconsin, 49 are from Illinois.

"You're trying to sell the state university to the state prospects," Beckman said. "That's one of the things that I've been very blessed to be at places where they do a great job of recruiting their state. It's something that we believe in here and we need to do. Anybody that goes anywhere, I don't want. I want them staying home, and I know we can build something very, very special here with the in-state football players. It'd be like our own all-star team."

Here's a look at the Illinois prep players on other Big Ten rosters and what high school they attended, in order from most to least.

1. Northwestern (34): quarterback Matt Alviti (Maine South), cornerback Dami Arowolaju (Rich South), offensive lineman Hayden Baker (Cary-Grove), wide receiver Quinn Baker (Cary-Grove), quarterback P.J. Carollo (Lake Forest), defensive lineman Chance Carter (Loyola Academy), super back Doug Diedrick (Montini), offensive lineman Matt Frazier (Kankakee Bishop McNamara), wide receiver Tom Fuessel (Lincoln-Way East), wide receiver Mark Gorogianis (Montini), offensive lineman Zack Guritz (Hinsdale South), running back Tim Hanrahan (New Lenox Providence Catholic), cornerback Matthew Harris (Lyons Twp.), linebacker Eric Hauser (Loyola Academy), long snapper Pat Hickey (Loyola Academy), linebacker Sam Hsu (New Trier), linebacker Joseph Jones (Plano), running back Malin Jones (Joliet Catholic), offensive lineman Blake King (Minooka), offensive lineman Jack Konopka (Palatine Fremd), defensive lineman Tyler Lancaster (Plainfield East), defensive lineman Dean Lowry (Rockford Boylan), punter/kicker Matt Micucci (Stevenson), safety Tommy Odell (Oak Park-River Forest), linebacker Michael Odom (Benet Academy), running back Mike Panico (Mundelein Carmel), offensive lineman Alex Pietrzak (Chicago Brother Rice), wide receiver Kyle Prater (Proviso West), defensive lineman C.J. Robbins (LaSalle-Peru), cornerback Troy Sheppard (New Lenox Providence Catholic), super back Mark Szott (Waubonsie Valley), running back Mike Trumpy (Wheaton North), super back Dan Vitale (Wheaton Warrenville South) and cornerback Jarrell Williams (Richards)

2. Iowa (15): linebacker Reggie Spearman (Chicago Simeon), defensive back Kevin Ward (New Lenox Providence Catholic), wide receiver Maurice Fleming (Chicago Curie), fullback Adam Cox (Stillman Valley), running back Mark Weisman (Stevenson), defensive lineman Faith Ekakitie (Lake Forest Academy), offensive lineman Jordan Walsh (Glenbard West), offensive lineman Colin Goebel (Naperville North), defensive lineman Jaleel Johnson (Montini), offensive lineman Ryan Ward (New Lenox Providence Catholic), offensive lineman Mitch Keppy (Riverdale), offensive lineman Reid Sealby (Byron), tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz (Johnsburg), defensive lineman Louis Trinca-Pasat (Chicago Lane Tech) and defensive end Riley McMinn (Rochester)

3. Indiana (13): cornerback Ben Bach (Wheaton Warrenville South), quarterback Nate Boudreau (Neuqua Valley), safety Tyler Brady (Wheeling), punter Nick Campos (Wheaton Warrenville South), running back Tevin Coleman (Oak Forest), offensive tackle Peyton Eckert (Mt. Prospect), kicker Mitch Ewald (Waubonsie Valley), offensive lineman Dan Feeney (Carl Sandburg), tight end Danny Friend (Morris), running back Bobby Hess (Geneva), defensive end Nick Mangieri (Dunlap), linebacker Jake Michalek (Chicago Brother Rice) and long snapper Josh Pericht (New Lenox Providence Catholic)

4. Purdue (10): defensive tackle Johnny Daniels (Chicago Foreman), long snapper Grant Ellington (Nazareth Academy), defensive tackle Bruce Gaston (Chicago St. Rita), running back Robert Gregory (Chicago Simeon), linebacker Ruben Ibarra (Chicago St. Patrick), cornerback Antoine Lewis (Proviso East), defensive end Evan Panfil (Lincoln-Way Central), linebacker Sean Robinson (Rochester), offensive lineman Michael Rouse III (Homewood-Flossmoor) and defensive end John Strauser (St. Thomas More)

T-4. Wisconsin (10):  defensive end James Adeyanju (Chicago Curie), linebacker Ethan Armstrong (Ottawa), quarterback Thad Armstrong (Wisconsin), linebacker Garret Dooley (Rochester), tight end Troy Fumagalli (Waubonsie Valley), nose guard Warren Herring (Belleville East), offensive lineman Keeler Jackson (Barrington), linebacker Carl Miller (Stevenson), kicker Stephen Salata (Stevenson) and offensive lineman Dan Voltz (Barrington)

6. Michigan (9): wide receiver Bo Dever (Lake Forest), long snapper Scott Sypniewski (Ottawa Marquette), wide receiver Brad Anlauf (Hinsdale Central), offensive lineman Chris Bryant (Chicago Simeon), offensive lineman Graham Glasgow (Aurora Marmion), offensive lineman Kyle Bosch (Wheaton St. Francis), offensive lineman Logan Tuley-Tillman (Peoria Manual), offensive lineman Michael Schofield (Carl Sandburg) and defensive lineman Ryan Glasgow (Marmion Academy)

T-6. Minnesota (9): offensive lineman Brian Bobek (Palatine Fremd), kicker/punter Andrew Harte (Montini), offensive lineman Marek Lenkiewicz (Tinley Park Andrew), linebacker Jack Lynn (Lake Zurich), offensive lineman Kyle McAvoy (Bloomington), Luke McAvoy (Bloomington), punter Dan Orseske (Chicago Brother Rice), defensive back Alexander Starks (Plainfield North) and quarterback Chris Streveler (Marian Central Catholic)

8. Nebraska (6): safety Corey Cooper (Proviso East), linebacker Jack Fordon (New Lenox Providence Catholic), kicker Pat Smith (Quincy Notre Dame), offensive lineman Matt Finnin (Crete-Monee), defensive tackle Vincent Valentine (Edwardsville) and wide receiver Jordan Westerkamp (Montini)

9. Ohio State (3): offensive lineman Logan Gaskey (Stevenson), defensive lineman Tommy Schutt (Glenbard West) and wide receiver Evan Spencer (Vernon Hills)

10. Michigan State (2): offensive lineman Jack Allen (Hinsdale Central) and defensive end Demetrius Cooper (Chicago Julian)

T-10. Penn State (2): long snapper Sean Corcoran (Kankakee Bishop McNamara) and linebacker T.J. Rhattigan (Neuqua Valley)

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments