McDonald's All-American primer for Illinois

McDonald's All-American primer for Illinois

The McDonald’s All-American boys' basketball game is once again in the spotlight tonight.

And once again, no Illinois men’s basketball recruit is on the roster.

Yet the Land of Lincoln will be well-represented tonight (8:30, ESPN) when the East meets the West in the 37th annual game.

The game has a decided Illinois flavor to it since it will take place at Chicago’s United Center for the fourth straight year.

Having three in-state prep players on the roster helps out, too.

Chicago Whitney Young center Jahlil Okafor (Duke) and Marian Catholic point guard Tyler Ulis (Kentucky) are both on the West roster, while Chicago Curie power forward Cliff Alexander (Kansas) is on the East squad.

Illinois has produced 22 McDonald’s All-Americans in the 21st century, but only two have chosen to play their college basketball in Champaign: Waukegan’s Jereme Richmond (2010 selection) and Proviso East’s Dee Brown (2002).

All told, 63 Illinois prep products have played in the game, which first took place in 1978.

Illinois has had representation in all two but games, with at least one player from the state being selected in 35 McDonald’s All-American games.

The absences came recently, too, in 2012 and 2009.

Here’s a more detailed breakdown on the in-state prep players who have donned a McDonald’s All-American uniform.

By year
— Cliff Alexander, Tyler Ulis and Jahlil Okafor
2013 — Jabari Parker
2012 — None
2011 — Wayne Blackshear and Anthony Davis
2010 — Jereme Richmond
2009 — None
2008 — Iman Shumpert and Michael Dunigan
2007 — Derrick Rose
2006 — Sherron Collins and Jon Scheyer
2005 — Bobby Frasor and Julian Wright
2004 — Shaun Livingston
2003 — Shannon Brown
2002 — Dee Brown, Sean Dockery and Michael Thompson
2001 — Eddy Curry
2000 — Andre Brown and Darius Miles
1999 — Brian Cook
1998 — Cory Maggette, Quentin Richardson and Frank Williams
1997 — Melvin Ely and Marcus Griffin
1996 — Ronnie Fields and Michael Robinson
1995 — Kevin Garnett
1994 — Antoine Walker
1993 — Rashard Griffith
1992 — Chris Collins and Richard Keene
1991 — Tom Kleinschmidt and Howard Nathan
1990 — Jamie Brandon
1989 — Deryl Cunningham and Deon Thomas
1988 — Eric Anderson, LaPhonso Ellis and Raymond Thompson
1987 — Bill Heppner and Marcus Liberty
1986 — Nick Anderson and Phil Henderson
1985 — Lowell Hamilton and Ed Horton
1984 — Roger McClendon
1983 — Barry Sumpter and Daryl Thomas
1982 — Bruce Douglas and Efrem Winters
1981 — Walter Downing and Michael Payne
1980 — Russell Cross and Doc Rivers
1979 — Teddy Grubbs, Raymond McCoy and Isiah Thomas
1978 — Mark Aguirre and Chuck Verderber

By high school
: Raymond Thompson
Bloom: Raymond McCoy
Champaign Centennial: Roger McClendon
Chicago Brother Rice: Bobby Frasor
Chicago Crane: Sherron Collins
Chicago Curie: Cliff Alexander
Chicago Farragut: Michael Dunigan, Ronnie Fields, Kevin Garnett
Chicago Gordon Tech: Tom Kleinschmidt
Chicago Julian: Sean Dockery
Chicago King: Rashard Griffith, Jamie Brandon, Marcus Liberty, Efrem Winters and Teddy Grubbs
Chicago Leo: Andre Brown
Chicago Manley: Russell Cross
Chicago Morgan Park: Wayne Blackshear
Chicago Mt. Carmel: Antoine Walker
Chicago Perspectives Charter: Anthony Davis
Chicago Providence St. Mel: Lowell Hamilton
Chicago Simeon: Jabari Parker, Derrick Rose, Deon Thomas, Nick Anderson
Chicago St. Francis de Sales: Eric Anderson
Chicago Westinghouse: Mark Aguirre
Chicago Whitney Young: Jahlil Okafor, Quentin Richardson
Collinsville: Richard Keene
Crete-Monee: Phil Henderson
Crystal Lake Central: Bill Heppner
East St. Louis: Darius Miles
East St. Louis Lincoln: LaPhonso Ellis
Glenbrook North: Jon Scheyer, Chris Collins
Harvey Thornton: Melvin Ely
Homewood-Flossmoor: Julian Wright
Lincoln: Brian Cook and Chuck Verderber
Lovejoy: Barry Sumpter
Marian Catholic: Tyler Ulis
Oak Park Fenwick: Corey Maggette
Oak Park-River Forest: Iman Shumpert
Peoria Central: Shaun Livingston
Peoria Manual: Frank Williams, Marcus Griffin and Howard Nathan
Peoria Richwoods: Michael Robinson
Providence Catholic: Michael Thompson and Walter Downing
Proviso East: Shannon Brown, Dee Brown and Doc Rivers
Quincy: Bruce Douglas and Michael Payne
Springfield Lanphier: Ed Horton
St. Joseph’s: Deryl Cunningham, Daryl Thomas and Isiah Thomas
Thornwood: Eddy Curry
Waukegan: Jereme Richmond

By college choices
Roger McClendon
DePaul: Andre Brown, Quentin Richardson, Ronnie Fields, Tom Kleinschmidt, Howard Nathan, Deryl Cunningham, Bill Heppner, Teddy Grubbs, Raymond McCoy and Mark Aguirre
Duke: Jahlil Okafor, Jabari Parker, Jon Scheyer, Sean Dockery, Michael Thompson, Corey Maggette, Chris Collins, Phil Henderson
Fresno State: Melvin Ely
Georgia Tech: Iman Shumpert
Illinois: Jereme Richmond, Dee Brown, Brian Cook, Frank Williams, Marcus Griffin, Richard Keene, Deon Thomas, Marcus Liberty, Nick Anderson, Lowell Hamilton, Bruce Douglas and Efrem Winters
Indiana: Eric Anderson, Daryl Thomas and Isiah Thomas
Iowa: Raymond Thompson, Ed Horton and Michael Payne
Kansas: Cliff Alexander, Sherron Collins, Julian Wright
Kentucky: Tyler Ulis, Anthony Davis, Antoine Walker and Chuck Verderber
Louisville: Wayne Blackshear and Barry Sumpter
LSU: Jamie Brandon+
Marquette: Walter Downing and Doc Rivers
Memphis: Derrick Rose
Michigan State: Shannon Brown
North Carolina: Bobby Frasor
Notre Dame: LaPhonso Ellis
Oregon: Michael Dunigan
Purdue: Michael Robinson and Russell Cross
Wisconsin: Rashard Griffith
+Originally committed to Illinois

Chicago Bulls:
Eddy Curry
Los Angeles Clippers: Shaun Livingston and Darius Miles
Minnesota Timberwolves: Kevin Garnett

Let’s not forget about the women, either.

Illinois will have a Class of 2014 recruit in center Chatrice White from Shelby, Neb., playing for the West team tonight (6 p.m., ESPNU).

She is the second Illinois recruit to play in the game since it was first started in 2002.

Destiny Williams played in the 2009 game before her brief career at Illinois, which consisted of one game before she transferred to Baylor.

No in-state prep girls’ player is on the McDonald’s All-American team this year, and Illinois has had more of a checkered history than its counterparts on the boys’ entering the game’s 13th year. Here’s a further breakdown:

By year
— None
2013 — Linnae Harper
2012 — Jewell Loyd, Janee Thompson and Morgan Tuck
2011 — Ariel Massengale
2010 — None
2009 — None
2008 — None
2007 — Alison Jackson, Amy Jaeschke and Devereaux Peters
2006 — Amanda Thompson
2005 — Lindsay Schrader
2004 — Candance Parker
2003 — Britney Jordan, Erin Lawless
2002 — Lindsay Richards, Johanna Solverson

By high school
Lindsay Richards
Bartlett: Lindsay Schrader
Bolingbrook: Morgan Tuck, Ariel Massengale
Chicago Whitney Young: Linnae Harper, Janee Thompson, Amanda Thompson
Lake Zurich: Johanna Solverson
Naperville Central: Candance Parker
New Trier: Amy Jaeschke
Niles West: Jewell Loyd
Oak Park Fenwick: Alison Jackson, Devereaux Peters and Erin Lawless
Peoria Woodruff: Britney Jordan

By college choice
Morgan Tuck
Iowa: Lindsay Richards and Johanna Solverson
Kentucky: Linnae Harper and Janee Thompson
Northwestern: Amy Jaeschke
Notre Dame: Jewell Loyd, Devereaux Peters and Lindsay Schrader
Ohio State: Alison Jackson
Oklahoma: Amanda Thompson
Purdue: Erin Lawless
Tennessee: Ariel Massengale and Candance Parker
Texas A&M-Commerce: Britney Jordan


Login or register to post comments

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Marcus_Griffith wrote on April 02, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Who is Marcus Griffith???