Youth briefs May 1, 2013

Youth briefs May 1, 2013

The Next Generation Scholastic Bowl Team won its sectional tournament Tuesday after defeating Paris Crestwood, Decatur Lutheran and Normal Metcalf, which won the state tournament last year. The team advances to state and will compete Friday in Peoria.

It also won its regional tournament April 24 after defeating Holy Cross School, St. Matthew and Catlin. The team's record so far is 18-2.

The team consists of seventh-graders Maggie Tewksbury, Toni Cosmini, Chloe Pollock-Muskin, Hadley Shapland, Reed Phillips and Sophie Quackenbush, as well as sixth-grader Tim Cho.


Sabrina Smith, a senior at Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley High School and Kandace Hofer, a senior at Paxton-Buckley-Loda High School, recently received DAR Good Citizens awards at the Governor Thomas Ford Chapter DAR and SAR Good Citizens Program. It was April 6 at the Gibson City Moyer Library. They received an American flag, a certificate, a DAR Good Citizens pin and a $100 award from the chapter.

At the program, Chet McClure, a GCMS senior, and Josh Hopkins, a PBL senior, were awarded SAR Good Citizens Awards. They received an American flag from the DAR chapter and a certificate and an engraved SAR Good Citizens medal from the SAR chapter.

The Alliance Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, has announced the winners of the 2012-2013 American History Essay contest. They are Jenna Lee, a fifth-grade winner from Stratton Leadership and Microsociety Magnet School in Champaign; Lindsey Decker, a seventh-grade winner from St. Thomas School in Philo; and Erek Webb, an eighth-grade winner from J.W. Eater Junior High School in Rantoul.

The winning essays were chosen from 66 entries. The students wrote on the topic, "Forgotten Patriots Who Supported the American Struggle for Independence." Fifth- through eighth-grade students in public and private schools or sanctioned home study programs in Champaign County were eligible to enter.

Those who entered received a certificate of participation. Chapter winners will receive a medallion and special certificate. They will be guests of honor with their family and teacher at the June 8 Flag Day program at the Savoy Methodist Church.


The Illinois State Board of Education has announced a Hoopeston student will represent Illinois during the 2013 National Youth Science Camp this summer in West Virginia.

Michelle Seat from Hoopeston Area High School will participate in the camp.

Seat has also been accepted into the chemical engineering program at the University of Illinois.

Established in 1963 as a part of West Virginia's Centennial Celebration, the National Youth Science Camp is an annual summer forum where two delegates representing each state exchange ideas with leading scientists and other professionals from academic and corporate worlds.

The camp's academic program is complemented by an outdoor recreation program, which leverages its location in the Monongahela National Forest. The Science Camp's outdoor program offers backpacking, caving, rock climbing, mountain biking and kayaking.


Several local students won honors April 20 at the annual 4-H Public Presentations Contest at the Champaign County Extension Office in Champaign.

Top presenter in the junior division was Valerie Norcross of Champaign, a member of Champaign Shamrocks; and in the senior division, Cynthia Markstahler, Pesotum, and Sonya Walsten, rural Champaign, both of the Sadorus 4-H All-Stars.

Markstahler and Walsten qualified for the state fair in oral interpretation, as did Shelby Waltermire of Tolono, a member of the Sadorus All-Stars, in the illustrated category. Waltermire also won a Distinguished Clover award.

Carson Osmond, Mahomet, a member of Mahomet Happy Helpers, is a state fair alternate in oral interpretation.

Sections (1):Living
Topics (1):Education

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments