Area residents elected as Legion officers

Area residents elected as Legion officers

CHAMPAIGN — Several area residents were elected officers for 2013-14 at the annual Department of Illinois 19th District American Legion Convention, which was hosted May 19 by Champaign's William F. Earnest Post 559.

The new officers are Commander Robbie Walker (Champaign Post 559); Senior Vice Commander Bill Reed (Charleston Post 93); and Junior Vice Commander Paul Garrett (Tuscola Post 27).

The Sons of the American Legion elected Commander Mark Friedman (Champaign Post 24); Senior Vice Commander Barry Morgan (Lovington Post 429); and Junior Vice Commander Darryl Hicks (Champaign Post 559).

Anderson Epps was posthumously honored for being the first 19th district commander from Post 559; the Epps Family was presented a plaque that will be displayed at the post hall.

The convention also elected delegates to the National American Legion Convention to be held in Houston in August: Walker; Myron Kirby (Farmer City Post 55); Garrett; Gene Corum (Bement Post 620); Larry Workman (Moweaqua Post 370); and J.R. Stillwell (Champaign Post 24). Elected as alternate delegates were: Bill Jones (Farmer City Post 55); Ramona Henricks (Cerro Gordo Post 117), Bill Jones (Rantoul Post 287); Robert Henderson (Urbana Post 71); Rudi Laufhutte (Champaign Post 24); and Gregg Roberts (Champaign Post 24).

The 19th district includes Champaign, Coles, DeWitt, Douglas, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt and Shelby counties with 54 posts and more than 6,500 members.

Sections (1):Living
Topics (1):People

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments