Youth briefs May 29, 2013

Youth briefs May 29, 2013

Six Vermilion County 4-H members competed April 30 in a food demonstration contest at Bowman Estates of Danville. They demonstrated how to make a food items for the Bowman Estates residents, staff and the general public. All six won a blue award.

Jill Bontjes of the Camo Kickers 4-H Club won Best of Show and Champion of the Junior Division; Parker Stonecipher won Champion of the Young Junior Division; Jaidyn Davis of Bismarck Lucky Clovers won Reserve Champion of the Junior Division; and Alexander Dinger of Top of the Line won Reserve Champion of the Young Junior Division.

Christina Brumett of the Bismarck Lucky Clovers and Lillian Hunter of Jamaica Flatlanders also competed.


Each year the Guild of the Champaign-Urbana Symphony Orchestra awards scholarships to young musicians throughout the area to help enable them to attend the Illinois Summer Youth Music program at the University of Illinois.

This year's recipients are David Alston, a ninth-grader at Centennial High School who plays violin; Emma Breen, an eighth-grader at Franklin Middle School who plays trumpet; Lauren Breen, a seventh-grader at Franklin Middle School who plays oboe; Isaac Henry, an eighth-grader at at Jefferson Middle School who plays viola; Eugene Keem, a seventh-grader at Edison Middle School who plays cello; Jenna Lee, a student at Stratton Elementary School who plays violin; Vikram Perry, a seventh-grader at Franklin Middle School who plays French horn; Grace Qiu, a seventh-grader at Countryside School who plays piano; Kathryn Schwartz, a ninth-grader at Urbana High School who plays alto saxophone; and James Vaughen, an eighth-grader at University Laboratory High School who plays trumpet.


The Carle Auxiliary May 11 presented several students who plan to pursue careers in health. The auxiliary has been awarding scholarships to students since 1962 and over the years has awarded more than $500,000.

Local winners are Nathan Cain, Philo; Katie Dixon, Tuscola; Cortney Eisenmann, Savoy; Madison Griffin, Monticello; Brittany Hart, Sullivan; Lauren Houmes, Hoopeston; Caleb King, Monticello; Rachel McClarey, Champaign; Jenna Parks, St. Joseph; Sara Roberts, Monticello; Trevor Schrock, Arthur; Myranda Tabb, Arthur; Kerby Waddell, Monticello; Alyssa Vodacek, Urbana; and Kendall Wisehart, Mahomet.


Alexis White, a senior at Urbana High School, was awarded the Judge Fred Green Memorial Scholarship this spring.

White will attend Parkland College in the fall to study criminal justice and hopes to transfer to Georgia State.


Edo Roth, a graduating senior at University of Illinois Laboratory High School in Urbana, has been named one of about 550 semifinalists in the 2013 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The semifinalists were selected from more than 3,900 candidates on the basis of superior achievements, leadership qualities, personal character andinvolvement in community and school activities.

Semifinalists were chosen by a panel of distinguished educators after a review of students' essays, self-assessments, descriptions of activities, school recommendations and school transcripts.


Several students recently won Urbana High School Athlete of the Year awards.

Gabi Rajic was named Junior Female Athlete of the Year; and Tanner Russell was Junior Male Athlete of the Year. Nicole Choquette was named Senior Female Athlete of the Year and Cameron Mammen was named Senior Male Athlete of the Year

These awards are given each year by the Urbana Athletic department, and members of the Urbana High School coaching staff complete the selection process. To be eligible, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of 4.0 or higher and a successful record in interscholastic sports.


The Champaign Exchange Club has announced Erica Allender as its Nursing Scholarship Award winner.

Allender is a graduating senior at Champaign Centennial High School. She was honored recently with her parents, Mark and Beth Allender, at the Exchange Club luncheon. Next year, she will study at the University of Illinois College of Nursing at Urbana-Champaign.


More than 80 students from 10 area high schools participated in Eastern Illinois University's 38th annual Maurice Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest.

Michael Webb of Mahomet-Seymour placed first in the contest, and Mahomet-Seymour's Kevin Kauffman tied for sixth place.

In addition, Mahomet-Seymour had the fourth-highest team average.


Education Personnel Federal Credit Union awarded 10 Lester Shick Memorial Scholarships to the following students: Beau Barber, who is attending Parkland and the University of Illinois and majoring in engineering; Sydney Clark, who is attending Danville Area Community College and studying marine biology; Ashley Hill of Danville High School, who will attend Indiana State and major in elementary and special education; Alexandra Knee of Oakwood High School, who will attend DACC and major in nursing; Courtney Lillard, who is attending Butler University and working toward a mental health license; Sydney Michael of DHS, who will attend the University of Illinois and major in early childhood education;

Jennifer Nolan, who is attending Olivet Nazarene University and majoring in reading education; Alexandra Pate of Schlarman Academy, who will attend DACC and major in advertising; Molly Sermersheim of Schlarman Academy, who will attend Wesleyan and study veterinary science; and Jessica Tuelp of Bismarck-Henning High School, who will attend DACC and study early childhood education.


Exelon's Clinton Power Station awarded scholarships to six DeWitt County high school graduating seniors for their academic ability and community involvement.

Each of the $1,000 educational scholarships was given to students from Clinton High School, Blue Ridge High School and Deland-Weldon High School. The scholarship recipients are Melinda Matthews and Morgan Love from Clinton High School, Lisa Wallace and Jon Jones of Blue Ridge High School, and Mikayla Jones and Rachel White of Deland-Weldon High School.

"The station is most proud of its ability to help out with upcoming leaders," said Bill Noll, Clinton Power Station site vice president, in a news release. "We wish them all the best in their future pursuits and would welcome them as new Exelon employees."


Jasmine Alexander-Jordan of Champaign was honored at the May 20 Champaign Exchange Club luncheon as its 2013 A.C.E. Award winner. The award is given to a student who has overcome social or physical difficulties and is going on to graduate high school. Alenxander-Jordan is graduating from the READY Program in her junior year. She is the daughter of Megan Jordan of Champaign.


Several local middle school students won Middle School Medallion Awards, sponsored by the Champaign-Urbana Optimist Club.

They are Senia Hernandez-Mapson, Alyssa Kington, Marshall Thompson and Elliot Brown from Franklin Middle School, Champaign; Daja Wilson, Maggie Akinleye, Donald Gardner and Benjamin Ngo of Edison Middle School, Champaign; Bailee Bui, Kameron Phanrana, Sendra Ubele, Josh Denzer, Xochitl Quiroz and James Williams of Jefferson Middle School, Champaign; and Rhiannon Cosper, Hannah Sweeney, Yasir Badillo and Jackson Smart of Urbana Middle School.

The award is given to students who have given service to their school or community and have an optimistic outlook.

Sections (1):Living
Topics (1):People

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments