Youths in the news, April 30, 2014

Youths in the news, April 30, 2014

In academic honors

Honor society recognition. Jarvis A. Young, the son of Charles T. and Alissa M. Young of Champaign, has recently become a member of Phi Sigma Theta National Honor Society at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Phi Sigma Theta is a national honor society dedicated to recognizing and rewarding acedemic achievement in undergraduates at institutions of higher learning. The organization encourages all new members to become involved in their communities through volunteer work.

Honor society recognition. Thirty Urbana High School National Honor Society seniors were recognized by the Exchange Club of Urbana at the club's meeting on April 17. Youth of the Year Award was presented to senior Eliot England. A $200 check accompanied the award. In addition to England, Youth of the Month awards were presented to Bridget Mueller-Brennan, Michelle Driscoll, Gabriela Rajic, Mary Corkery and Taylor Lovett.

Honor Society faculty advisers Michael Branden and Felicia Tufano attended, along with guidance counselor Marc Solodky.

To compete for a statewide scholarship, students were asked to write an essay on the topic of "Parading the Spirit of Community Service with Passion and Commitment". Those submitting essays were Bridget Mueller-Brennan, Michelle Driscoll, Ellie England, Gabriela Rajic and Taylor Lovett. These students were awarded a $75 prize for their efforts.

Awards were presented by Fred Holhubner, the Exchange Club's coordinator with Urbana High School. Club president Ron Peters and vice president Jo Ann Smith assisted in the awards ceremony.

The Exchange Club of Urbana meets at noon Thursdays at Clark-Lindsey Village in Urbana.

Scholarship winners. The Champaign-Urbana Optimist Club announced the Optimist Scholarship winners for the Champaign-Urbana area. This year, the Champaign-Urbana Optimist Club is giving three $1,000 scholarships to three seniors from among the six local high schools. The purpose of the scholarship is to assist the winners in their educational goals toward a career that will be service oriented. Selection is based on service to the community, their spirit of optimism, volunteer work and career choice. The 2014 winners are Norrlyn-Michael Allen and Suzanne Reardonz, both from Champaign Central High School and Chelsea Skinner of Urbana High School. The winners' names will be placed on an Optimist Scholar plaque in their high schools and they all will be honored at an Optimist Club dinner at 6 p.m. June 19 at Olive Garden Restaurant in Champaign.

In the classics

Award recipients. Students at the High School of St. Thomas More participated in the National Latin Exam sponsored by the American Classical League. They joined more than 154,000 other student from 49 states and 17 foreign countries. The following students earned awards. Gold Summa Cum Laude: Ashley Wax (perfect score), Michael Kehl (perfect score), Tyler Vodacek, Qiaofei Wang.

Silver Maxima Cum Laude: Caroline Geubelle, Benjamin Hearn, Emily Oldham, Harrison York, Turner Rives, Zachary Lo, Elena Ahasic.

Magna Cum Laude: Sahil Chawla, James Tressler, Katherine Gillette, Morgan York.

Cum Laude: Tori McCoy, Stephanie Burton, Christian Wilson.

Sections (1):Living
Topics (2):Education, People