Younger Generation: Celebrating the achievements of young adults

Younger Generation: Celebrating the achievements of young adults

Boys State

Illinois Premiere Boys State was June 7-13 at Eastern Illinois University in Charleston.

Participants of American Legion Boys State are exposed to the rights and privileges, along with the duties and responsibilities, of a franchised citizen. The training is objective and practical with city, county and state governments operated by students who campaign and are elected to various offices.

Activities include legislative sessions, court proceedings, law enforcement presentations, assemblies and recreational programs.

Citizen Cedric Jones, sponsored by American Legion Post 24 in Champaign, was elected to the office of governor by his peers.

Livestock judging

The Champaign County 4-H Livestock Judging Team participated in this year's Illinois State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest on June 16 at the Stock Pavilion on the University of Illinois campus.

The members included: Megan Myerscough, Michael Myerscough, Lindsay Decker and Matthew Decker. They were coached by Bailey Edenburn.

Megan Myerscough of Champaign competed as an individual within the senior division, placing 30th.

The junior division team finished 11th with team members Lindsay Decker of Philo placing 14th, Michael Myerscough of Champaign placing 30th and Matthew Decker of Philo placing 69th.

More than 200 4-H members competed. Animals for the contest were provided by the UI's Animal Science department.

Cooking champs

Local teens competed in the fast and furious Illinois 4-H Food Challenge on May 29 at Monticello High School. Armed with only a month of training, a table of surprise ingredients and basic kitchens, they had 40 minutes to create unique dishes completely from scratch.

Each of the four teams consisted of 2-5 high school youths representing Champaign, Iroquois and Piatt counties. The teams trained for a month before the competition as part of the 4-H Food Challenge Clubs.

First place went to the Iroquois County "Culinary Country Chicks." Anamieka Putz from Martinton, Rhianna Cyr from Chebanse and Rebekah Putz from Martinton wowed the judges with their colorful beans and rice and their "five-alarm taco." I

The Champaign 4-H team, "Tastebud Tuesdays," consisting of Zurich Mixon and Tyra Davis, took home second place with their dish titled "Quesadilla Paradise." The judges admired their creativity and the incredible mix of flavors within the steak and veggie quesadilla.

The two teams from Monticello High School tied for third place.

The team consisting of Andrea Boyd, Jennifer Hinton, Nick Triplett, Hannah Whetstone and Emma Vaug, all from Piatt County, prepared a unique stir-fry dish featuring a savory glaze.

Angelina Fairbanks, Colleen Wastburg and Carly Wienke, also from Piatt County, presented a Southwestern-inspired entre.

Each participant took home a new piece of cooking equipment.

Girl Scouts honorees

More than 260 girls were recognized for their leadership achievement in Girl Scouting. Girl Scouts of Central Illinois honored 10 Gold Award, 52 Silver Award and 206 Bronze Award recipients at the Hope Evangelical Free Church in Springfield.

"By discovering, connecting and taking action in their communities, these inspiring girls are defining what it means to be a female leader in today's societ," Pam Kovacevich, CEO of Girl Scouts of Central Illinois said.

The Girl Scout Gold Award, Girl Scouting's highest achievement, is earned by 5-6 percent of Girl Scouts ages 14-18. The Girl Scout Silver Award, the highest award a Girl Scout Cadette (grades 6 — 8) can earn — gives girls the chance to show that they are a leader who is organized, determined, and dedicated to improving her community. The Girl Scout Bronze Award is a leadership adventure and the highest honor a Girl Scout Junior (grades 4-5) can achieve.

The following area Scouts were recognized.

Gold Award — Mary Campbell, Champaign; Rebecca Salo, Champaign; Amy Crull, Champaign and Abbi Frings, Champaign

Silver Award — Heidi Brya, Champaign; Jessica Crane, Champaign; Maggie Flanagin, Champaign; Elizabeth Geistlinger, Champaign, Christina Lee, Champaign and McKala Lindsey, St. Joseph.

Bronze Award — Anna Tranel, St. Joseph; Emma Trafelet, St. Joseph; Jillian Plotner, St. Joseph; Ashley Abbott, St. Joseph; Lisa Altaner, Champaign; Karlee Feinen, Champaign; Abby Goad, Champaign; Becca Hege, Champaign; Josie Kuenning, Champaign; Rachel Loftus, Champaign; Sydney McMahon, Champaign; Noelle Schacht, Champaign; Kylie Fuoss, Mahomet; Eliza Gibbens, Mahomet; Shelby Malaise, Mahomet; Olivia Proctor, Mahomet; Sara Rigg, Mahomet; Cecilia Taylor, Mahomet; Jenny Webb, Mahomet; Lindsay Weiss, Mahomet; Emma Yates, Mahomet; Delanie Wheeling, Champaign; Lauren Lumetta, Champaign; Madisyn Cartmill, Champaign; Sophie Morgan, Champaign; Lily Skiles, Champaign; McKenna Crawmer, Champaign; Brooklyn Nesbitt, Champaign; Hannah Davenport, Champaign; Juliette Martin, Champaign.

Sections (1):Living
Topics (1):People