Neighbors: Recognizing accomplishments in our communities

Neighbors: Recognizing accomplishments in our communities

Lake Land awards

Lake Land College awarded 54 students in the surrounding communities with the Talented Student Award for the 2014-2015 school year. This award offers tuition waivers to high school graduates for their academic achievement and is for a maximum of two consecutive calendar years. The award recipients for 2014-2015 include: Katelyn Schrock of Arthur, Cassandra Lambdin of Lovington, Jordan Soard of Oakland, Samuel Perry of Sullivan, Madison Kerans of Hume, Adam Davis of Sullivan and Patrick Hogan of Sullivan.

VCRWC scholarship

Alexandra Pate has been selected as the Vermilion County Republican Women's Club 2014 Academic Scholarship Recipient. A graduate of Schlarman Academy (May 2013), Pate participated in dual enrollment classes at DACC. She completed 40 credit hours at the end of her first semester as a DACC student with a perfect 4.0 GPA. Pate was inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at DACC during her senior year of high school, thus becoming one of the youngest members. She was elected president of Phi Theta Kappa this year. She completed more than 100 hours of community service while in high school.

She participated in the Southwest Children's Library, Festival of Trees and worked in the gardens of St. Paul's Church. She has continued her community service while attending DACC through Phi Theta Kappa efforts to collect Toys for Tots and also to raise awareness of community service significance.

Academic awards

— Mikayla Kiersten Jones was named to the Dean's List at Anderson University for the spring semester.

— Drake University named Andrea Miskimins of Champaign and Krysta Thomason of LeRoy to the President's List (perfect 4.0 grade-point average). In addition, Roy Zachary Elkins of St. Joseph was named to the Dean's List.

— The following area students at Aurora University were named to the Dean's List: Malinda Hawkins of Danville, Spencer Tolson of Danville, Drew Collom of Catlin, Lindsey Nickelson of Homer and Jessica Stone of Watseka.

— Iowa State University named the following students to the Dean's List for the spring semester: Ian McInerney of Champaign, Shelby Reed of Homer, Haleigh Summers of Royal, Tyler Matthew Lo of Savoy, and Jonah Longdon of Urbana.

— Rosa Druker, the daughter of Jonathan Druker and Lisa Rosenthal of Champaign, has been named to the Dean's List of Macalester College.

— The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology named Daniel Earl of Mahomet and Aaron Jones of Champaign to the Dean's List. Earl, who majors in computer science is the son of Arthur and Bettina Earl. Jones is the son of Rand and Jerilynn Jones of Champaign, he is pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering.

— Local students making McKendree University Dean's List include: Lohgan Bryant of Danville, Jackson Carver of Rantoul, Mary McKee of Chrisman, Charles McMahon of Westville, Megan Porter of Gifford, Michael Romshek of Gibson City, and Dustin Walls of Champaign.

— Two Urbana residents — Joohyun Lee and Elena R. Newmark — and Hannah E. Jones of Mahomet were named to the Dean's List at Boston University for the spring semester.

— Allison Thompson of Champaign, who is in the museum studies program in Rochester Institute of Technology's College of Liberal Arts, made the Dean's List for the spring semester.

— Grand Valley State University named Jeremy Y. Ng of Champaign to the Dean's List for the spring semester.

— Area students that were named to the Dean's List for the spring semester at Greenville College included: Christopher Albin of Danville, Betsey Wagoner of Hoopeston, Nolan Osmond of Mahomet, Megan Johnson of Monticello, Suzanne Ford of Saint Joseph, LaRyssa Herrington of Tolono, Hannah Burnett of Urbana, Leanna Westerhof of White Heath.

Sections (1):Living
Topics (2):Education, People

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments