News-Gazette, weeklies, WDWS receive awards

News-Gazette, weeklies, WDWS receive awards

News staffs win in contests of state press groups

The news staffs of The News-Gazette, News-Gazette Community Newspapers and News Talk 1400 WDWS-AM won 13 first-place awards and placed in a number of categories in recent state press association contests.

First-place winners for The News-Gazette included sports breaking news for the sports staff in the Associated Press Media Editors contest. In the Illinois Press Association contest, first-place winners included Jim Dey for editorial page; Patrick Wade for government beat reporting; and sports staff for sports news.

First-place winners for News-Gazette Community Newspapers in the Illinois Press Association contest included Amelia Benner, feature writing, and Terry Greene, sports column, Mahomet Citizen; Will Brumleve, business/economic reporting and Maurice Scott Award for best coverage of taxation, and Andrew Rosten, sports feature, Paxton Record; Jessica Starkey, spot news photo, and Matt Daniels, sports feature and sports column, Rantoul Press.

First-place winners for News Talk 1400 WDWS-AM in the Illinois Broadcasters Association Silver Dome awards included Tim Ditman, best light feature story; and Carol Vorel, best hard news story. Other WDWS awards included Vorel, second place, best light feature story; Brian Barnhart, second place, best play-by-play; Ditman, third place, best radio series or documentary; and Michael Kiser, third place, best hard news story.

Other News-Gazette awards in the Associated Press contest included second-place winners Tracy Moss, feature writing; Niko Dugan, headlines; Bob Asmussen, sports feature. Third-place winners were staff for public service and Loren Tate for sports column or blog.

Other News-Gazette awards in the Illinois Press Association contest included second-place winners Christine des Garennes, government beat reporting; Fred Kroner, sports news; Tom Kacich and Patrick Wade, Illinois Public Policy Institute Award for best promotion of public's right to know. Third-place winners included Jim Dey, local editorial; Mike Goebel, single page design. Honorable mention winners included the staff for general excellence; sports staff for sports news and most innovative project; Mike Goebel, single page design.

Other News-Gazette Community Newspapers awards included:

— Paxton Record, Andrew Rosten, second place, sports news; Andrew Rosten and Cody Westerlund, third place, sports section; Andrew Rosten and Cody Westerlund, honorable mention, sports section; and Cody Westerlund, honorable mention, sports news.

— Piatt County Journal-Republican, Andrew Helregel, second place and honorable mention, sports news; Steve Hoffman and Andrew Helregel, honorable mention, news reporting, single story.

— Rantoul Press, Dave Hinton, second place, feature writing; Matt Daniels, third place, sports feature.

— The Leader in St. Joseph, Nora Maberry-Daniels, third place, sports photo.

Sections (2):News, Business
Topics (1):People

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments