Business and professional briefs, Oct. 27, 2013

Business and professional briefs, Oct. 27, 2013

New jobs

Gilbert joins Ratio Architects. Jessica T. Gilbert has joined Ratio Architects' Champaign studio team as a project architect.

Gilbert is licensed to practice architecture in Illinois. She has 12 years of professional design experience, particularly for elementary, secondary and higher education.

University YMCA adds to staff. Enrique Rebolledo and Alicia Beck have joined the staff of the University YMCA, Champaign.

Rebolledo is the program coordinator. He will coordinate much of the Y's global engagement programming, including the International Service Learning Initiative and Global Health Initiative.

He previously was program manager for social justice and leadership education and University of Illinois Housing and was interim assistant director of diversity advocacy in the Illinois State University dean of students office.

Beck is the University YMCA's development director. She was most recently assistant dean for advancement at the UI School of Social Work.

Before that, Beck served the Y in programming and provided assistance during the 2007 capital campaign.

Specialists come to Carle. Patricia Henry and Raquel Igana have joined the staff at Carle.

Henry, a doctor of osteopathy, joined the gastroenterology department. She earned her degree from Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine, Blacksburg, Va.

She completed a fellowship in gastroenterology from Cooper University Hospital, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. She is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Igana, a nurse practitioner, joined the geriatrics department. She earned her master's degree in nursing from Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Sciences, Los Angeles. She is certified by the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners.

Aspen adds dentists in Danville. Dr. Mithila Sharma and Dr. David Noh have joined Aspen Dental in Danville.

Sharma received her doctor of dental surgery degree from the University of California, San Francisco. She is lead dentist for the Danville practice.

Noh received his doctor of dental medicine degree from Case Western Reserve University.


Hill receives award. Dr. Malcolm Hill has received the Physician Excellence Award at Carle.

The award is given to a Carle Physician Group doctor who exceeded practice expectations over the past year and made outstanding contributions to the community.

Hill, who started working at Carle Clinic Association in 1982, works in pediatrics at the Urbana on Windsor location.

He has been involved with the March of Dimes, the Developmental Services Center and the SafeKids Coalition Board and helped start the Carle Food Allergy Program.

Kiwanis honors Thies, elects officers. Richard L. "Dick" Thies has been selected Kiwanian of the Year by the Champaign-Urbana Noon Kiwanis Club.

Thies, an Urbana attorney, is a 55-year member of Kiwanis and a former club president. He was honored for service to the club and work in building the endowment fund.

Greg Fink has been elected to a one-year term as president of the club. He works at Busey Wealth Management.

Other new officers include: Rick Schoell, president-elect; Darryl Sweeney, vice president; and Steve Bremseth, treasurer.

Betsy Rider will continue as secretary. New board members include Danda Beard, Marc Changnon, John Lammers and Chuck Smith.

Bushue achieves Ameriprise status. Douglas Bushue of Bushue, Jones & Associates, Savoy, has been named an Ameriprise Financial Private Wealth Adviser.

Only about 6 percent of the nearly 10,000 Ameriprise financial advisers have achieved that status.

Editor named EIU Alumna of Year. Nora Maberry-Daniels has been named Alumna of the Year by the Eastern Illinois University Journalism Department.

Maberry-Daniels, a 2005 journalism graduate, is editor of The Leader newspaper in St. Joseph.

To be eligible for the award, a recipient must be a graduate of EIU's journalism program, have a positive reputation as a journalist and have a record of supporting the department after graduation.

Maberry-Daniels has been an editor with News-Gazette Community Newspapers since 2008.

Parkland trustee elected to national board. Parkland College trustee Greg Knott has been elected to the 2013-14 board of directors of the Association of Community College Trustees.

Knott, of St. Joseph, was chosen as a director-at-large.

He works as assistant dean of university libraries for the University of Illinois.

Mouser cited by Edward Jones. Joe Mouser recently won the Edward Jones financial services firm's Jim McKenzie Award for achievement in building client relationships.

Mouser is a financial adviser for Edward Jones in Monticello.

Stork wins installation contest. Jared Stork of Edelman Electric, Fairbury, recently won the Ultra Pro Challenge at Springfield Electric Supply, Champaign.

Contractors competed to install a ventilation fan in the quickest time, and Stork won with a time of three minutes, 15 seconds, earning a $500 Cabela's gift certificate.

He now ranks third nationally among all winners in Broan-NuTone's Ultra Pro Challenge.

The eight winning competitors with the quickest times nationally will win a February trip for two to the International Builders' Show in Las Vegas, where they will compete for the grand prize of a 2014 Ford F-150 pickup truck.

SURS hails Employee of Year. Jeff Houch has been named 2013 Employee of the Year by the State Universities Retirement System, Champaign.

Houch, a legislative liaison for the system, joined the organization in 2011. He works with legislators and staff to educate them about the retirement system and the potential effect of legislation on it.

Houch was nominated and selected for the award by his co-workers.

Tepper Electric saluted. Champaign American Legion Post 24 has selected Tepper Electric Supply Co., Champaign, as the November recipient of the post's certificate of appreciation for proper display of the U.S. flag.

Firefighters graduate from academy. Thirteen area firefighters have graduated from the University of Illinois Fire Service Institute's Basic Firefighter Academy.

Jason Griest of Urbana, Jesse Rivera of Lake Villa, Zachary Tish of Decatur, Bryan Schoenecke of Bloomington and Adam Wessbecher of Lincoln will serve on the Champaign Fire Department.

Addison Chism and Austin Upton of Pesotum will serve on the St. Joseph-Stanton Fire Protection District.

Cody Carpenter of Champaign will serve on the Eastern Prairie Fire Department.

Seth Hardwick of Champaign will serve on the Carroll Fire Protection District.

Michael Hakimi of Buffalo Grove will serve on the Edge Scott Fire Protection District.

Adam Kownacki will serve on the Savoy Fire Department.

Andrew Askew of Farmer City will serve on the Farmer City Fire Department.

Kelly Chapman of Camargo will serve on the Villa Grove Fire Department.

Items should be submitted to The News-Gazette for consideration at least 10 days prior to publication. Items may be emailed to; mailed to Business & Professional Briefs, c/o Don Dodson, The News-Gazette, P.O. Box 677, 15 Main St., Champaign, IL 61824-0677; or dropped off at the main office. Photos submitted with a self-addressed, stamped envelope will be returned.

Sections (2):News, Business
Topics (1):People

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments