Filing period for boards begins Monday

Filing period for boards begins Monday

DANVILLE – Six years ago, Rickey Williams Jr. set off for graduate school in Atlanta. Before he left, he attended a Danville school board meeting and spoke about one of his goals.

"I told them one day, I hoped to come back and serve the community by working in the school district in some capacity," recalled the 28-year-old Danville man, who was planning to study political science, education and housing policy. "I thought I would teach and eventually become an administrator."

Williams' life took a detour. He returned to his hometown in late December 2005 to lead the Boys and Girls Club of Danville.

Though his professional goals changed, Williams' dream of being involved in Danville schools did not. That's why he's planning to run for one of three open school board seats in the April 17 election.

"I've been thinking about this for some time," said Williams, who already has more than 100 signatures on his nominating petitions. "I feel very strongly about education and its power to shape the lives of young people."

Williams and other hopefuls for school board seats throughout Vermilion County can begin filing nominating petitions and other election papers at 8 a.m. Monday.

The deadline to file is 5 p.m. on Feb. 5.

Papers must be filed with the school board secretary at the superintendent's office in each district.

Candidates' names will appear on the election ballot in the order in which their petitions are received. If more than one candidate files at the same time, a lottery will be held to determine ballot placement.

If a lottery is needed for Danville candidates, it will be held at 4 p.m. Feb. 9.

In Danville, three of the seven school board seats will be up for election. Winners will serve four-year terms.

The seats are held by Leon Parker, Judd Peck and Gina McGuire.

Parker, a five-year board member, has decided not to seek re-election.

Peck and McGuire, both of whom were appointed this year, intend to run.

Besides Williams, newcomer Ed Butler also has announced his intention to run.

Here is a list of other school board members in Vermilion County whose seats are up for election this year:

Armstrong grade school

Anne Burton, Philip Davis, Keith O'Banion and Dorla Vinson. All are four-year terms.

Armstrong High School

Dwight Bohlen, Mike Pflugmacher and Larry Roberts. All are four-year terms.


Dave Clapp, Doug Cunningham and Lisa Story. All are four-year terms.


President Jeff Fauver, Toni Stone, Terry Prosser and Tom Koerting. Koerting's seat is a two-year term, and the others are four-year terms.

Georgetown-Ridge Farm

Allan Bouton, Keith Dalenberg, Robert Delmotte and Jack Morrison, the board president.

Hoopeston Area

Mark Eighner ("out" seat), Mark Wagoner ("in" seat) and President Steve Unger ("in" seat). All are four-year terms.


President Ron Metzger, Russ Puzey and Randy Taylor. All are four-year terms.

Oakwood Community

John Grove, Jerry Harper, Tracey Smith and Dale Wise. All are four-year terms.

Potomac grade school

President Susie Bird, Lyndon Hambleton and JoEllen Reardon. All are four-year terms.


Dale Lithgow, Ray Rice and Eric Roberts. All are four-year terms.


Robert Clifford, Randy Davis, Kathe Quartier and Dorothy Virostek.

News-Gazette Correspondents Paige Maul and Douglas Toole contributed to this story.

Sections (2):News, Local
Topics (1):Education
Categories (2):News, Education