UI provost will head national committee

UI provost will head national committee

URBANA – University of Illinois Provost Linda Katehi is the new head of the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science.

President Bush last week designated Katehi, already a member of the panel, to be chairwoman for the next three years. The 12-member committee is appointed by the president to evaluate nominees for the award.

Since its creation by Congress in 1959, the National Medal of Science has been awarded to more than 441 scientists and engineers for outstanding contributions in the physical, biological, mathematical, engineering social and behaviorial sciences.

The 2007 winners have been chosen and will be announced at a White House ceremony, said spokeswoman Mayra Montrose. The committee is still evaluating nominees for the 2008 awards.

Sections (2):News, Local


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments