20 candidates file for primary on first morning

20 candidates file for primary on first morning

URBANA — Twenty candidates, or their representatives, were in line at 8 a.m. today (Monday, Nov. 28) to file petitions to get on the March 20 primary election ballot in Champaign County.

All will be listed first on the ballot for their respective offices, unless someone else running for that position also was in line at 8 a.m. In that case, according to Champaign County Clerk Gordy Hulten, a drawing will be held Dec. 13 to determine ballot position.

Countywide candidates filing at 8 a.m. included Democrats George Danos and Kevin Sandefur for county auditor, and Evelyn Underwood and Lori Hansen for circuit court clerk.

Republican candidates Stephanie Holderfield and Rick Winkel, both for circuit court clerk, also filed at 8 a.m.

Incumbent Coroner Duane Northrup filed for another term, as did incumbent Recorder Barb Frasca. Hulten filed for a two-year term as county clerk. John Farney was the only Republican to file for auditor.

Among county board candidates, Republicans Jim McGuire (District 4) and Gary Maxwell (District 1), filed at 8 a.m., as did Democrats Pattsi Petrie (District 6), James Quisenberry and Chris Alix (District 10), and Brent West (District 11).

Later, Republican county board candidates Jeff Kibler and Stan James filed, as did Democrat Alan Kurtz.

The filing period for county candidates ends next Monday, Dec. 5.


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments