Catlin attorney wins big in GOP race for Vermilion recorder

Catlin attorney wins big in GOP race for Vermilion recorder

DANVILLE — By a wide margin, Republican voters in Vermilion County picked attorney Tom O'Shaughnessy as their nominee for the race for Vermilion County recorder of deeds this fall.

O'Shaughnessy, 54, of Catlin, beat out the two other Republicans vying for the nomination, retiring special education teacher Deborah "Deb" Runyan, 59, of Danville, and NACCO employee and former Marine, Eric Rosson, 30, of Catlin.

According to unofficial vote totals late Tuesday, O'Shaughnessy got 4,149 votes to Runyan's 1,615 and Rosson's 422. He will now move on to face the Democratic nominee for the office, Nikki Bogart. She is a former Vermilion County Board member and is currently a finance official for Vermilion County.

O'Shaughnessy said late Tuesday that his opponents in the Republican primary are good people. He said you can't look at their records of public service and not be grateful for the things they do for the community on a day-to-day basis. He said the margin by which he won was a surprise to him.

"It's a great community in which we live, and I look forward to the campaign and meeting more people," he said, adding that he and his family have had a great time campaigning and meeting people all over the county, so he's looking forward to doing more of that.

The only other two contested primary races involved the Vermilion County Board.

Five Republicans were vying for the right to run in November for three seats in county board District 3. Two challengers, Charles D. Nesbitt of Catlin and Mary J. Morrison of Catlin, were taking on three incumbents, Steve Fourez of Fairmount, Rick Knight of Indianola and W. David Stone of Catlin.

The top three move on, and they are Knight with 754 votes, Nesbitt with 595 and Stone with 553. Fourez got 543 votes and Morrison got 256.

In county board District 5, there were four Democrats vying for the chance to move on and challenge for the three open seats in that district. One challenger, Robert J. Watson of Tilton was up against the three incumbents in that district and lost by just two votes.

Longtime board member Orick "Corky" Nightlinger of Danville was the top vote-getter with 169. Fellow incumbents John Criswell of Tilton and Andrew Terry Wilkus of Danville each got 132 votes and Watson received 130.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments