State education board honors four from Champaign school district

CHAMPAIGN — The Illinois State Board of Education has named four people from the Champaign school district in its annual Those Who Excel awards, including a finalist for Teacher of the Year. These staff members and school volunteer will receive Those Who Excel awards at a banquet Oct. 20 in Normal. They'll also be recognized at the Oct. 15 Champaign school board meeting at the Mellon Administrative Center, 703 S. New St., C.

Those being honored include:

— Christine Adrian, a teacher at Jefferson Middle School, will receive the Classroom Teacher Award of Excellence and is a finalist for the Teacher of the Year award.

— Patricia Shapley, a volunteer Booker T. Washington STEM Lab and a University of Illinois professor of chemistry, will receive the Community Volunteer Award of Excellence.

— Shayonna Reid, an instructional aide at Booker T. Washington STEM Academy, will receive the Educational Service Personnel Award of Merit.

— Asia Fuller-Hamilton, principal at Booker T. Washington STEM Academy, will receive the School Administrator Award of Excellence.

"It is an honor to have such a high level of professionalism and expertise in our classrooms here in Unit 4," said Superintendent Judy Wiegand in a news release Tuesday. "We are proud to have our staff and volunteers recognized for making a difference in the lives of our students."

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments

Sid Saltfork wrote on October 09, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Congratulations.  It is good to see local teachers recognized for their outstanding work.  The Champaign school district should rightfully take pride in their teaching staff.  Teachers make a difference.