Almost all Champaign, Urbana council seats uncontested

Almost all Champaign, Urbana council seats uncontested

CHAMPAIGN — Three candidates including incumbent Laurel Prussing will campaign to be Urbana's next mayor, while all but one city council seat in Champaign and Urbana will go uncontested.

The field is finalized as the candidate filing period for spring elections closed on Monday. Terms expire in May for five city council members in Champaign, and all seven Urbana alderpersons.

Three city council seats likely will change hands in Urbana after the incumbent officials chose not to run for re-election.

Candidates for township and park district offices in both cities will also be on spring ballots. The filing period for park district offices runs from Dec. 17 through Dec. 24.

In Champaign, the field of candidates looks very familiar:

— For Champaign City Council District 1, incumbent Will Kyles will be challenged by Dwayne Hubbard and Gina Jackson.

— For District 2, incumbent Michael La Due.

— For District 3, incumbent Vic McIntosh.

— For District 4, incumbent Marci Dodds.

— For District 5, incumbent Paul Faraci.

— For City of Champaign Township Assessor, incumbent Brian P. Christie will be challenged by Wayne Williams.

— For City of Champaign Township Supervisor, incumbent Pamela K. Borowski and challenger Andy J. Quarnstrom.

Those seats will all be up for grabs during an April 9 election.

Three at-large city council members and Mayor Don Gerard are in the middle of their terms and will be up for election in two years.

In Urbana, a few incumbents have chosen not to run, but every city council seat is uncontested:

— For mayor, incumbent Democrat Prussing will be challenged by Democrat Les Stratton and Republican Rex Bradfield.

— For Ward 1, incumbent Democrat Charlie Smyth.

— For Ward 2, incumbent Democrat Eric Jakobsson.

— For Ward 3, Democrat Carol Ammons.

— For Ward 4, Democrat Bill Brown.

— For Ward 5, incumbent Democrat Dennis Roberts.

— For Ward 6, Republican Michael P. Madigan.

— For Ward 7, incumbent Democrat Diane Marlin.

— For city clerk, incumbent Democrat Phyllis Clark and Democrat Mike Gatsche.

— For Cunningham Township Supervisor, Democrat Michelle Mayol.

— For Cunningham Township Assessor, incumbent Democrat Dan Stebbins and Democrat Laura Sandefur.

Three incumbent alderpersons in Urbana are not running for re-election. Heather Stevenson, R-Ward 6, the only Republican on the city council, has not filed for re-election. Republican Madigan likely will take her place.

Brandon Bowersox-Johnson, D-Ward 4, is not on the list but is supporting Brown's candidacy and said Brown's experience makes him "very qualified."

Robert Lewis, D-Ward 3, said he has chosen not to run after serving two terms because he believes in term limits. Carol Ammons, who has held a seat on the Champaign County Board for several years but did not run for re-election this month, likely will replace Lewis.

Cunningham Township Supervisor Carol Elliott will not seek re-election, but her deputy, Mayol, has filed to take her place.

Stratton's filing to challenge Prussing as a Democrat will force a Feb. 26 primary election. Clark will also appear on that primary ballot against Gatsche, as will the township assessor candidates.

Champaign and Urbana park district commissioners will be up for election in April, too. Terms expire this spring for Newt Dodds and Al Griggs in Champaign. Dodds has held his seat since 1975.

In Urbana, the seats now held by park board President Michael Walker and board member Bob Stewart are up for election. Both are six-year terms expiring in 2019. Walker has held his seat since 1983.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments

ROB McCOLLEY wrote on November 27, 2012 at 1:11 am
Profile Picture

Bold, innovative ideas are sure to follow in the wake of this game-changing election.

EL YATIRI wrote on December 01, 2012 at 4:12 am
Profile Picture

heh, democracy at its best Rob!