No primary for Danville council

No primary for Danville council

DANVILLE — With no more than two people running in each of the four contested races for Danville alderman next year, there won't be a need for a primary in February.

The candidate filing period for the 2013 Danville municipal election ended Monday, and altogether, there are 11 candidates running for seven aldermanic seats on the 14-member non-partisan Danville city council. The city is divided into seven wards with two aldermen per ward, and one aldermanic seat in each ward is up for election on April 9.

Seats in three of the seven wards will be uncontested, as only the incumbents filed. They are Rickey Williams Jr. in Ward 1, Sharon McMahon in Ward 4 and Steve Nichols in Ward 6.

The other four wards are contested with two candidates each having filed in those races.

In Ward 2, incumbent Lois Cooper decided not to seek re-election, so two newcomers will compete. They are Frank Hoskins, 439 Ave., C., and Darrell R. Heath, 40 N. Jefferson St.

In Ward 3, incumbent Bill Gilbert, 1200 Dakota St., will face challenger Roosevelt Davis, 1308 E. Main St.

In Ward 5, incumbent Mike Puhr, 512 W. Woodlawn St., will be challenged by newcomer Janis Ostiguy, 209 Orchard St.

And in Ward 7, incumbent Steve Foster, 126 Lakeside, will be running against first-time Danville alderman candidate Al Reynolds, 62 Thornhill Drive.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments