Youth briefs March 20, 2013

Youth briefs March 20, 2013

Three students from Central High School in Champaign have been named National Merit finalists. They are Jennifer Anderson, Kristen Campbell and Likith Govindaiah.

The Franklin Middle School MathCounts Team won third place in its regional competition. The team scored high enough to advance to the state competition. Franklin is in Champaign.

Champaign high school students who earned high scores on the National German Exam are Natalie Bina, Dawn Haken, Elizabeth Polinski, Paul Butler, Brian Ford, Nina Hopkins, Cheyenne Andel, Zack Jones, Nicole Wilson, Jerome Karaganis, EmilyEngelbrecht-Wiggans, Sean Noa, Liz Fager and Devin Kramer.

On Feb. 23, Champaign elementary schools participated in the Battle of the Books. Battle of the Books is an annual academic quiz bowl organized by the Champaign Public Library and takes place during Black History Month. Battle of the Books concentrates on 30 books based on black history, African or African-American themes. This year, Stratton Elementary School won first place, Robeson Elementary School took second place and Kenwood Elementary School won third place.

Centennial High School students Sanjana Anil and Ryan Thomas both received the Prudential Spirit of Community Volunteer Service Award for their service to the community. The award program is sponsored by Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

Students at Urbana's University Laboratory High School recently won second place in the best series or documentary category for their WILL-AM reports on the counterculture era in Champaign-Urbana called "Beyond the Tie-Dye: Counterculture in Champaign/Urbana 1965-1975."

The series was led by WILL's Dave Dickey, producer; University of Illinois Laboratory High School teacher Janet Morford, producer; and student producers Aishwarya Gautam, Shruti Vaidya and Sarah Joy Yockey. Students interviewed 16 Champaign-Urbana residents about their experiences during that period.

WILL has worked with University High students to produce radio documentaries since 1995.

The awards will be presented at the Illinois News Broadcasters Association spring convention April 20 in Urbana.

Westville High School has announced the Class of 2013 Outstanding Westville Leaders inductees. They are Carson Richardson,Kyle Brazas, D.J. Nourie, Jeremy Rivers, Shelby Pierce, Kaleb Smith, Kiersten Kennedy, Taylor Neal, Nick Woods and Levi Romo.

They were honored at a March 7 induction ceremony at the Possum Trot in Oakwood. Among those attending were family and friends of the inductees, school faculty and administrators, as well as the seniors from last year's class of inductees. They include Priyanka Bhakta, Coleen Cruppenink,Gjelberime Musaj, Emily Pinter and Breanna Thompson.

Scholarships available

The Community Services Board has several scholarships available for the 2013-2014 academic year.

To qualify, an applicant must be a resident of Champaign County and must have an annual income at or below 125 percent of the 2013 federal poverty guidelines. He or she must be enrolled in a full-time or part-time course of study at a post-secondary institution in Illinois.

The applicant must have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average (for high school grades) or at least a 2.0 cumulative grade point average (for post-secondary grades). The grade-point average requirements are based on a 4.0 grading scale. Students who have already completed bachelor degrees are not eligible.

The application deadline is April 12. Applications are available online at, or at the Regional Planning Commission's office in the Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 E. Washington St., U, or by contacting Rebecca Woodard, CSBG scholarship coordinator, at 328-3313.

Since 1986, the Champaign County Regional Planning Commission has administered the Community Services Block Grant Scholarship program with funds from the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs.

Amanda Johnston of Rantoul has received a Girl Scout Gold Award. She recruited her high school tennis team and Troop 2150 to resurface, clean and restore the tennis courts in Rantoul so community members can use them.

Johnston is a senior at Rantoul Township High School and plans to attend Illinois State University next year.

Sections (2):News, Local
Topics (1):People
Categories (2):News, People