PBL keeps board officers the same

PBL keeps board officers the same

PAXTON — The school board retained its slate of officers for the next two years after seating its newly elected board members last week.

Dawn Bachtold will remain the board's president, while Dave Dowling will continue to serve as vice president and Dean Swan as secretary. The board elected them to serve as the board's officers until the next reorganizational meeting following the April 2015 election.

Bachtold has been president of the board for the last two years, taking over for Mike Short, who had held the position for the previous 20.

Appointed to the building and grounds committee were Cris Thompson and Dean Swan; on the finance committee are Swan and Shawn Young; on the extracurricular committee are Young and Thompson; on the insurance committee are Doug Wolken and Allen Johnson; and on the personnel committee are Young and Dowling.

Dowling was also appointed as the board's media spokesperson.

Board members elected to seats in the April 2013 election also took their oath of office. Elected to four-year terms last month were Bachtold, Thompson, Young and Johnson. All are incumbents except Johnson.

The board also approved its calendar of meetings for the 2013-14 school year.

The board will continue to meet on the second Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the board room at the unit office in Paxton.

Sections (2):News, Local


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments