Vermilion candidates file papers; longtime clerk draws rival

Vermilion candidates file papers; longtime clerk draws rival

DANVILLE — Longtime Vermilion County Clerk Lynn Foster has at least one challenger in her quest for a seventh term in the countywide office she has held since 1990.

Monday was the first day candidates could file to run for countywide offices up for election in 2014, including sheriff, treasurer and supervisor of assessments.

Candidates have until Dec. 2 to file.

Foster, a Democrat, filed her paperwork Monday morning along with Republican Cathy Jenkins of Georgetown, who also filed for county clerk.

Jenkins was elected to the Vermilion County Board in November 2012 and has served on the Georgetown City Council, but this will be the first time she has run for a countywide office.

Vermilion County Sheriff Pat Hartshorn, a Republican, also filed on Monday and will be seeking his seventh term as the county's top law enforcement official. Longtime incumbent Treasurer Sue Stine, a Republican, also filed Monday. As of late Monday afternoon, no other candidates had filed for those two offices.

And 15 candidates filed Monday for the county board, where 14 of the 27 seats are up for election next year. Six Republican seats are up next year along with eight Democratic seats. The Republicans currently have a one-seat majority.

But one of those Republicans, John Alexander, said Monday that he will not be filing to run again in District 6. He said he felt it was time for him to step aside.

The following also filed for county board on Monday.

— District 1: incumbent Todd Johnson, Republican.

— District 2: incumbent Mike Marron, Republican.

— District 3: incumbent W. David Stone, Republican, and Steve Fourez, Republican.

— District 5: incumbent John L. Criswell, Democrat; incumbent Orick "Corky" Nightlinger, Democrat; Chad Turner, Democrat; and Robert J. Watson III, Democrat.

— District 6: newcomers Wesley G. Bieritz, a Republican, and Frankie B. Wright, a Democrat.

— District 7: incumbent Michael D. Dodge, Democrat; Craig A. Golden, Republican; and Anthony "A.J." Wright, a Democrat appointed earlier this year to succeed Democrat Larry Mills, who died.

— District 8: incumbent Ivadale Foster, Democrat, and Brad Wheeler, Republican.

Sections (2):News, Local