Wind farm activist to seek county board seat

Wind farm activist to seek county board seat

DANVILLE — A Rankin area resident who has lobbied the Vermilion County board for more than two years for changes to the county wind farm ordinance is one of about 20 people who have filed to run for county board next year.

Darrell Cambron of rural Rankin is running as a Republican for one of two county board seats up for election in District 1, which includes Rankin and Hoopeston in northern Vermilion County.

Darrell and Kim Cambron were instrumental in prompting the county board in 2011 to increase its setbacks, or distance, between wind turbines and houses and other primary structures. The Cambrons have continued to call for the board to increase its setbacks even more and make other changes to its ordinance regulating wind turbines. Earlier this year, a proposal by a current county board member to significantly increase setbacks failed to gain support among county board members.

Now, Cambron hopes to be one of the 27 board members making the decisions about wind turbines and other issues in the county.

Monday was the last day for candidates to file to run for offices or seats in the county that are up for election in the fall of 2014.

In addition to Cambron, two others filed to run for the two open seats in that northern district, including Republican incumbent Todd Johnson and Republican newcomer Larry Baughn of Hoopeston. The other Republican incumbent, Chris Leigh, decided not to run again. The third Republican incumbent in that district, Gary Weinard, is currently county board chairman, and his term is not up until 2016.

But the chairmanship could be in question next year as the Republicans have only a one-seat majority on the board, and races in five districts, including District 1, could play into which party has the majority. The chairman is selected from among the county board members, and historically, from the ranks of the majority party.

There are also four county-wide elected offices up for election next year, but only one incumbent will face a challenger. Long-time County Clerk Lynn Foster, a Democrat, will run against Republican challenger Cathy Jenkins of Georgetown. Jenkins was elected to the county board last year in District 4, which is in southern Vermilion County. The three county-wide Republican incumbents, Sheriff Pat Hartshorn, Treasurer Sue Stine and Supervisor of Assessments Matt Long all filed, but have no one challenging them.

Four people filed to run for Vermilion County Circuit judge. Three Democrats — Karen E. Wall, a Vermilion County associate judge from rural Danville; Edwin C. Barney, an attorney from Westville and a Vermilion County Board member; and Daniel D. Brown, an attorney from Danville — will square off in the March 4 primary to determine who will run in the November general election against the lone Republican candidate, Thomas M. O'Shaughnessy, of Catlin, who is currently the Vermilion County recorder of deeds and previously a private attorney.

The following filed to run for Vermilion County board in their respective districts.

District 1: Two seats are up for election. Republican incumbent Johnson and Republican newcomers Baughn and Cambron filed.

District 2: One seat up for election. Republican incumbent Mike Marron is the only one who filed.

District 3: Two seats up for election. Republican incumbent David Stone filed along with fellow Republican Steve Fourez, who has served on the board in the past. Republican incumbent Rick Knight did not file.

District 4: One seat up for election. Incumbent Democrat Terry Stal did not file, but Republican newcomer Adam Hart filed.

District 5: Two seats up for election. Democrat incumbents John Criswell and Orick "Corky" Nightlinger filed along with Democrat challengers Robert "Jim" Watson III and Chad Turner.

District 6: One seat up for election. Republican incumbent John Alexander decided not to run again. Republican newcomer Wesley Bieritz and Democrat newcomer Frankie B. Wright both filed.

District 7: Two seats up for election. Democrat A.J. Wright was appointed to one of the two seats earlier this year, filling the vacancy created when board Member Larry Mills died. Wright has filed to run, as has incumbent Democrat Mike Dodge. They will be challenged for their two seats by Republican Craig Golden, who has served previously on the board.

District 8: One seat up for election. Long-time board member Ivadale Foster, a Democrat, has filed to run again and will be challenged by Republican newcomer Brad Wheeler.

District 9: Two seats up for election. Democrat incumbents Larry Davis and Bruce Stark both filed.

Sections (2):News, Local