Youths in the news, May 6, 2014

Youths in the news, May 6, 2014

All-academic team. The Sangamon Valley Conference has released its All-Academic Team for the 2013-14 school year. The award is limited to seniors with a GPA of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale after their seventh semester of high school.

From Clifton Central: Lucas Blume, JR Caspary, Noah Frerichs, Taylor Hull, Sara Lemenager, Ciara Lindgren, Logan Podowicz, Landon Rosenboom, Corey Steinhart, Kaelyn Vaughn.

From Cissna Park: Logan Kaufman, Dylan Reetz.

From Iroquois West: Logan Anderson, Brittany Belik, Clark Fink, TJ Foulks, Wesley Grant, Lindsey Leuhrsen, Cristian Lucas, Trenton Miller, Ian MacDonald, Elaina Renehan, Brighton Sier, Morgan Small, Zach Small, Bianca Wilwohl, Taylor Zirkle.

From Momence: Lucas Bielecki, Nicole Bukowski, Aaron Cavender, Amanda Graf, Nate Hess, Holly Kelson, Cody Kinstner, Hayden Kutemeier, Tiara Latham, Haylie Marrs, Laine Madison, Michael Simpson, Shalbereyl Thomas, Alicia Velazquez.

From Paxton-Buckley-Loda: Kristen Batte, Amanda Diesburg, Payton Dudley, Jay Eshleman, Melanie Foss, Ariel Flessner, Brittany Heyen, Jennifer Hustedt, Paxton Johnson, Paige Kuester, Tyler Rubarts, Haley Stagen.

From St. Joseph-Ogden: Zach Carmichael, Brady DePratt, Emily Dunlap, Ella Dunn, Kassidy Duckett, Matt Ekstrom, Sarah Foreman, Peyton Francisco, Hannah Gawthorp, Kellie Glenn, Michele Hill, Leah Hoveln, Jaz Kates, Nick Kneer, Nathan Knipfer, Bethany Manalo, Sara Melchior, Alyssa Pridemore, Anna Runck, Kaitlynn Salfrank, Brent Schluter, Madison Shane, Shelby Simmons, Jake Stewart.

From St. Thomas More: Soleiman Allam, Richard Berner, Jackson Bolger, Chandler Bollman, Courtney Boyer, Young Seun Cho, Megan Clapp, Jesse Dankle, Cameron Deedrich, Caroline Dodds, Samantha Floyd, Katherine Gillette, Nikolas Hess, Noah Johnson, Storm Joop, Chase Kangas, Colin Kelley, Regan Kelley, Sam Kil, Josh Koerner, Kaitlyn Kulas, Ian Niccum, Mike Plecki, Sam Powers, Daniel Shin, Demetrios Sofronis, Austin Tabeling, Meredith Thomas, John Walker, Courtney Wax, Christian Wilson.

From Watseka: Blake Burd, Olivia Claire, Devin Curry, Cheyenne Denoyer, Hayley Gray, Drew Grimes, Dakota Hampton, Austin Hasselbring, Morgan Hotaling, Ashley Lenhart, Emily McCann, Kate Mueller, Caleb Parker, Colleen Suchy.

Scholarship winners. The Sangamon Valley Conference also announced the winners of its 2014 SVC Scholarships. Sarah Foreman of St. Joseph-Ogden won the academic scholarship. Winners of the male and female athlete scholarships were Austin Hasselbring of Watseka and Amanda Graf of Momence. Watseka's Morgan Hotaling won the fine arts scholarship, and the vocational scholarship was awarded to Angela Behrends of Iroquois West. Each scholarhip is a one-time $500 award.

Students of the month. Ludlow Grade School's students for the month of April were Kassandra Aguirre, Tylor Rogers, Natilee Walston, Ashley Rasor, Jose Aguirre, Je-Shaun Washington and Vivian Steele. Students of the month are selected in part by their leadership in the classroom and being ready, respectful and responsible.

Junior police graduation. The Danville Police Department Junior Citizen's Police Academy held this year's graduation last Tuesday night, with a class of 16 young men and women participating in the ceremony in city council chambers. Public Safety Director Larry Thomason read the oath of citizenship to each participant. Cmdr. Jane McFadden and Officer Danielle Lewallen, academy coordinators, congratulated the graduates who were; Carli M. Bird, Andrew M. Brooks, Brayden W. Chrisman, Devin L. Baxter, Thaniel J. Cox, William E. Elliott, Jr., Levi H. Heaton, Bradon A. Hubbard, Hailey N. Piasecki, Braxtyn B. Schroeder, Makayla A. Sherman, Jennifer L. Spedeker, Paige E. Thornsbrough, Peyton A. Thornsbrough, Dylan M. Watson, and Brenden M. Yocius.

The Junior Citizens Police Academy is an educational, informative and fun program, which allows young adults to meet police officers and learn more about their jobs. The purpose of the academy is to increase interaction, understanding, and communication between the Danville Police Department and the younger citizens of our community. The Junior Citizens Police Academy gives younger citizens an opportunity to learn more about their Police Department with hands-on activities and up-close experiences. Commander Jane McFadden and Officer Danielle Lewallen are class coordinators.

Sections (2):News, Local
Topics (1):People