New Illinois law changes who can keep driving after a DUI
The Champaign County Sheriff said a recent change to Illinois' rules regarding DUI accidents won't have an adverse effect on public safety.
Sheriff Dan Walsh made the comments in reference to a law signed by the Governor last week that makes adjustments to the Illinois Vehicle Code. The law now says that drivers who injure themselves but not another person as a result of driving under the influence are still eligible to receive a monitoring device driving permit.
Walsh said the change is positive in the sense that it helps the small set of DUI offenders who don't hurt others while still punishing them.
Walsh added that driving under the influence is still a significant issue for him and his deputies.
According to the Illinois Secretary of State's website, the Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device that comes with a monitoring device driving permit costs $85 to install and more than $100 per month in rental and monitoring fees.
The law is HB 4304.