Davis, Shimkus running again

Davis, Shimkus running again

CHAMPAIGN — Two area congressmen say they're running for re-election in 2016.

U.S. Rep. Rodney Davis, R-Taylorville, said he will seek a third term while his mentor, U.S. Rep. John Shimkus, R-Collinsville, said he's a candidate for an 11th term.

Shimkus originally said he would serve no more than six terms in Congress, but said that former President George W. Bush asked him to stay on.

"It is an honor and privilege to represent the people of the 15th Congressional District in Washington, D.C., and I do not take that responsibility lightly," Shimkus said in announcing his re-election campaign. "The process starts very early in Illinois. Beginning September 1, petitions can be passed in order to gain placement on the March primary ballot."

For now Shimkus has no Republican or Democratic opponents in the 15th Congressional District, which includes parts of Champaign and Ford counties and all of Vermilion, Douglas, Coles and Edgar counties and is rated the most Republican in Illinois. Last year he defeated rural Mahomet Democrat Eric Thorsland, 75 percent to 25 percent.

Shimkus, 57, is a senior member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, and is chairman of the subcommittee on environment and economy.

Davis, 45, who started his congressional career as an aide to Shimkus, said he will run for another term as representative of the 13th Congressional District.

The 13th District includes Champaign-Urbana and arcs across central Illinois to the Illinois suburbs of St. Louis. It includes all or parts of 12 counties: Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery, Christian, Sangamon, Macon, DeWitt, Piatt and Champaign.

In the 2014 election Davis defeated Democrat Ann Callis, a former chief judge in Madison County, by 59 percent to 41 percent.

Although Davis has no announced Democratic Party challenger yet, Bloomington physician David Gill said he plans to run in the 13th District as an independent. Gill has run for Congress five times before, each time as a Democrat.

Sections (2):News, Local
Tags (1):2016 election