Nine area students named UI Chancellor's Scholars

Nine area students named UI Chancellor's Scholars

CHAMPAIGN — Nine area students were chosen to be Chancellor's Scholars at the University of Illinois this fall, based on their academic work and leadership potential.

They are part of the Campus Honors Program, a four-year general-studies program open to undergraduates in any curriculum. Up to 125 freshmen are admitted each year, selected from more than 7,000 on campus, and 20 more may join at the start of their sophomore year.

Scholars are given the opportunity to enroll in small honors classes and seminars, work closely with faculty mentors, and take part in a lecture series, dress-rehearsal visits to Krannert Center for the Performing Arts and international programming.

Other benefits include summer research and travel grants.

Among those selected were Catherine Seebauer of Urbana, Katherine Douglas of Monticello, and seven students from Champaign: Connor Aubry, Andrew Johnson, Philip Kocheril, Sarah Lee, Joaquin Malik, Lyle Regenwetter and Robert Stavins.

Sections (2):News, Local