38 apply for judgeships in Champaign, Macon counties

38 apply for judgeships in Champaign, Macon counties

Despite the dismal financial condition of the state of Illinois, there's no shortage of Central Illinois lawyers who would like to be put on the payroll as judges.

The Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts this week released the list of 38 applicants for open associate judgeships in Champaign and Macon counties.

In Champaign County, the lawyers are seeking the seat that Holly Clemons will retire from on July 7. In Macon County, they want the job that Scott Diamond retired from abruptly on April 6.

Clemons, 59, of Urbana, has been on the bench since 1996. Diamond, 70, of Decatur, had been the longest-serving judge in the entire six-county Sixth Circuit with 37 years of service.

Associate judges are chosen by the elected circuit judges in the county in which they sit. They serve at the pleasure of the elected judges and are typically evaluated for retention every four years. They earn about $181,220.

Many of the 38 have applied for judgeships in the recent past so a poll of bar association lawyers will be done only for those candidates who have not been evaluated in the last year, according to Macon County Presiding Judge A.G. Webber.

Webber said his judges tentatively plan to do interviews with new candidates on May 26. They will not re-interview candidates who applied for an open judgeship that was filled in January.

Although he'd like to have Diamond's replacement working as soon as possible, Webber said it appears it will be about mid-July before that will happen.

Champaign County Judge Tom Difanis said he and his colleagues plan to do interviews of all the applicants who want the Champaign County post the week of May 30. He wants to have someone ready to take the bench by mid-July as well.Those applying for the Champaign County position are:

— Sami Anderson

— Matthew Banach

— Andrew Bequette

— Jason Bohm

— Lindsey Clark

— Stephanie Corum

— Shannon DeLaMar

— Adam Dill

— Joel Fletcher

— Daniel Fossier

— Andrew Hatch

— Mark Ingersoll

— Robert Jacobson

— Scott Larson

— James Long III

— Troy Lozar

— Janie Miller-Jones

— Mark Palmer

— Alyxander Parker

— Amanda Riess

— Ramona Sullivan

— Shig YasunagaThose wanting the Macon County seat are:

— Michael Baggett

— Mary Bolton

— Rodney Forbes

— Monica Hawkins

— Will Konrad

— Shane Mendenhall

— Wendy Morthland

— Susan Nicholas

— Steven Perbix

— Scott Rueter

— Michelle Sanders

— Greg Scott

— Philip Tibbs

— William Trimble

— Tammara Wagoner

— Michael Walsh


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments