11 area students named Chancellor's Scholars at UI

11 area students named Chancellor's Scholars at UI

CHAMPAIGN — Eleven area students, including seven from Champaign, were named Chancellor's Scholars in the Campus Honors Program at the University of Illinois this fall.

They are among 140 freshmen and sophomores chosen for their academic excellence and leadership potential, according to the UI.

The Campus Honors Program is a four-year general-studies program open to undergraduates in any curriculum. It admits up to 125 freshmen each year, selected from more than 7,000 on the Urbana campus. Up to 20 additional students are invited to join at the beginning of their sophomore year.

Chancellor's Scholars participate in small honors classes and seminars and have close interaction with professors and mentors. They also have access to a lecture series, dress-rehearsal visits to Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, international programs, and summer research and travel grants.

The local students are:

— Champaign: Giulia Barbieri, Christopher Bauer, Minwoo Choi, Randy Janson, Matthew Reeder, Luie Siegel and Ethan Simmons

— Mahomet: Iain Carpenter and Claire Penrose

— St. Joseph: Lauren Gherna

— Tuscola: Lindsey Tschopp

Sections (2):News, Local


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments