2018 Innovation Celebration finalists announced

2018 Innovation Celebration finalists announced

The Champaign County Economic Development Corp. has announced the finalists for the 13th annual Innovation Celebration, its annual event to recognize innovative individuals and companies in the area.

The event, hosted by the EDC, University of Illinois, Parkland College and various community sponsors, will be held from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. March 29 at Parkland. More details are at innovationcelebration.com.

The finalists are:

Entrepreneurial Excellence

Social Venture Award

— Randolph Street Community Garden
— Salt & Light

Student Startup Award

— Mesh++
— PhantomCor
— Lumos

New Venture Award

— LifeFoundry, Inc.
— InnSight Technology
— Snooz

Advocacy Award

— Ken Taylor
— Stephanie Larson
— Kathie Cravens

Management Award

— Cindy Somers, Spherion Staffing
— Ron van Os, Inprentus
— Holly Glenn, Wolfram Research

Innovation: Economic Development Impact Award

— Clarkson Soy Products LLC
— Busey
— Triptych Brewing Company

2018 Innovation Transfer Award — University of Illinois

— Dr. Donna Cox, advanced visualization lab, National Center for Supercomputing Applications

2018 Alexis Wernsing Innovation Award — University of Illinois

— Mark McCarthy, Access Illinois

2018 Innovation in Engagement Award — Parkland College

— Adam Porter, Perimeter Road Sound Recordings