Champaign County's results for 2018 primary are certified — and historic

Champaign County's results for 2018 primary are certified — and historic

URBANA — The counting of the ballots in the March 20 primary election was completed, and the results were certified Tuesday at the office of Champaign County Clerk Gordy Hulten.

An additional 344 ballots, most of them vote-by-mail ballots received after Election Day, were tabulated. Because there were no close elections in the county, there were no changes in winners.

But the canvass showed that 31,574 votes were cast in the primary election, with 18,201 people taking a Democratic ballot and 13,367 taking a Republican one.

The turnout was a record for a nonpresidential primary and amounted to 26.3 percent of the 119,979 voters in the county.

The 57.7 percent-to-42.3 percent split favoring Democrats is a noteworthy reversal of every other recent gubernatorial election year in Champaign County. In 2014, for example, 63 percent of the 23,299 voters in the county took Republican ballots to 36.7 percent who took Democratic ballots.

The official results in contested Democratic races show that Sen. Daniel Biss of Evanston got 8,023 votes in the gubernatorial primary to 5,738 for the statewide winner, J.B. Pritzker of Chicago. Chris Kennedy of Kenilworth was third with 3,486 votes.

In the race for the Democratic nomination for attorney general, Kwame Raoul won the county with 4,978 votes to 4,000 for Pat Quinn, 2,220 for Scott Drury, 2,032 for Sharon Fairley and 1,318 for Nancy Rotering.

In the contest for the Democratic nomination in the 13th Congressional District, Betsy Londrigan had 5,274 votes to 4,500 for Jon Ebel, 2,629 for Erik Jones, 2,211 for David Gill and 347 for Angel Sides.

In the two-way race in the 15th Congressional District, Kevin Gaither had 1,222 votes to 961 for Carl Spoerer.

On the Republican side, Gov. Bruce Rauner won Champaign County with 7,704 votes to 5,307 votes for Jeanne Ives. Champaign, where he got 59.2 percent, was one of Rauner's strongest counties.

In the other statewide contested race, attorney general nominee Erika Harold of Urbana got 10,501 votes in Champaign County to 2,449 for Gary Grasso of Burr Ridge.

In the two-way race for county clerk, Matt Grandone had 6,467 votes to 5,797 for Jon Rector. In the race for sheriff, Allen Jones had 9,044 votes to 2,898 for Gregory Worrell.

And in the GOP primary in the 101st House District race, Dan Caulkins of Decatur had 902 votes to 846 for Randy Keith of Monticello and 346 for Todd Henricks of Cerro Gordo.

The top vote-getter in the county in the primary was Aaron Ammons, the Democratic candidate for county clerk with 13,802 votes. Tops among Republicans was Hulten, the GOP candidate for county executive, with 11,596 votes.

Sections (2):News, Local
Tags (1):election 2018