Guthrie, Small rate top honors

Guthrie, Small rate top honors

PARK RIDGE — Illinois senior Luke Guthrie and coach Mike Small received the Big Ten's top golf awards, the league office announced Tuesday.

Guthrie was picked as Player of the Year, and Small was selected as Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

Guthrie and UI sophomore Thomas Pieters claimed first-team All-Big Ten honors, and UI redshirt junior Mason Jacobs was a second-team selection.

Guthrie is the fifth Big Ten Player of the Year in Illini history and the first since Scott Langley accomplished the feat in 2010.

Salukis sink Illini. Jordan Parr hit a three-run home run in the sixth inning to give Illinois a 3-2 lead, but Southern Illinois plated five runs in the final two innings to win 7-3 Tuesday night at Illinois Field.

Carosio, Guthrie feted. Jenna Carosio, the Big Ten Defender of the Year in women's soccer, and Guthrie received the league's Medal of Honor on Tuesday night at the Fighting Illini Scholar-Athlete Awards Reception at Memorial Stadium.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments