Big Ten reverses UI tennis result

Big Ten reverses UI tennis result

CHAMPAIGN — The result of the March 28 men’s tennis match between Illinois and Penn State was overturned by the Big Ten Conference on Wednesday.

The Nittany Lions filed a protest about the lineup the Illini used in the match at No. 1 and No. 2 singles.

The league’s protest committee agreed with Penn State, awarding the No. 2 singles point to the Nittany Lions.

As a result, Penn State won the match 4-3. Though the team result changed, all individual match results will be maintained, the Big Ten said.

“I disagree with the current Big Ten policy on the setting of lineups,” UI coach Brad Dancer said. “We knew the ramifications of what could happen when we made the decision on our lineup last Friday. I’m disappointed in the situation, but, out of principle, we felt we needed to make a stand on what we believe is right. We adhered strictly to the guidelines set forth by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, but conference rules supersede ITA rules. We’re disappointed with the situation and outcome, but we’ll accept it and move forward. This may allow us to begin the conversation to revise the system in the future.”

On the court Wednesday in Lexington, Ky., the 11th-ranked Illini defeated the 14th-ranked Kentucky Wildcats 4-2.

Game at Busch rescheduled. The Illini baseball team’s game Wednesday night against Missouri at Busch Stadium was canceled due to inclement weather in St. Louis.

The UI announced Wednesday afternoon that the nonconference game was rescheduled for Wednesday, April 23, at 6:30 p.m.

All tickets purchased for Wednesday’s game will be honored April 23.

Richards, Dodds honored. Illinois revealed its Scholar-Athletes for the last two weeks. Wrestler Zane Richards claimed the honor for the week ending March 23, and track and field athlete Ben Dodds earned the honor for the week ending March 30.


Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
formermi wrote on April 03, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Can the writer of this article please revise it to explain what rule was broken? I'm no expert on NCAA tennis, but I went to to see if we were "stacking" the lineup. It doesn't look like we were. It says we had our #9 ranked player in the (1) match our #23 ranked player in the (2) match and our #42 ranked player in the (3) match. What's the problem? Why isn't the rule explained in this article?