Kickoff '12: How rookie coaches fared

Kickoff '12: How rookie coaches fared

There are 124 Football Bowl Subdivision coaches. Here's the list and how the 96 veterans finished in the first season at their current schools:


Air Force Troy Calhoun 9-4

Akron Terry Bowden 1st season

Alabama Nick Saban 7-6

Arizona Rich Rodriguez 1st season

Arizona St. Todd Graham 1st season

Arkansas John L. Smith 1st season

Arkansas St. Gus Malzahn 1st season

Army Rich Ellerson 5-7

Auburn Gene Chizik 8-5

Ball State Pete Lembo 6-6

Baylor Art Briles 4-8

Boise State Chris Petersen 13-0

Boston Coll. Frank Spaziani 8-5

Bowl. Green Dave Clawson 7-6

Buffalo Jeff Quinn 2-10

BYU Bronco Mendenhall 6-6

Cal Jeff Tedford 7-5

Central Fla. George O'Leary 0-11

Central Mich. Dan Enos 3-9

Cincinnati Butch Jones 4-8

Clemson Dabo Swinney 9-5

Colorado Jon Embree 3-10

Colorado St. Jim McElwain 1st season

UConn Paul Pasqualoni 5-7

Duke David Cutcliffe 4-8

Eastern Mich. Ron English 0-12

East Carolina Ruffin McNeill 6-7

Florida Will Muschamp 7-6

Fla. Atlantic Carl Pelini 1st season

Fla. Int. Mario Cristobal 1-11

Florida State Jimbo Fisher 10-4

Fresno State Tim DeRuyter 1st season

Georgia Mark Richt 8-4

Georgia Tech Paul Johnson 9-4

Hawaii Norm Chow 1st season

Houston Tony Levine 1st season

Idaho Robb Akey 1-11

Illinois Tim Beckman 1st season

Indiana Kevin Wilson 1-11

Iowa Kirk Ferentz 1-10

Iowa State Paul Rhoads 7-6

Kansas Charlie Weis 1st season

Kansas State Bill Snyder 1-10

Kent State Darrell Hazell 5-7

Kentucky Joker Phillips 6-7

Louisiana Tech Sonny Dykes 5-7

La.Lafayette Mark Hudspeth 9-4

La. Monroe Todd Berry 5-7

Louisville Charlie Strong 7-6

LSU Les Miles 11-2

Marshall Doc Holliday 5-7

Maryland Randy Edsall 2-10

UMass Charley Molnar 1st season

Memphis Justin Fuente 1st season

Miami Al Golden 6-6

Miami (Ohio) Don Treadwell 4-8

Michigan Brady Hoke 11-2

Michigan State Mark Dantonio 7-6

Middle Tenn. Rick Stockstill 7-6

Minnesota Jerry Kill 3-9

Mississippi Hugh Freeze 1st season

Mississippi St. Dan Mullen 5-7

Missouri Gary Pinkel 4-7

Navy Ken Niumatalolo 8-5

Nebraska Bo Pelini 9-4

Nevada Chris Ault 8-3

New Mexico Bob Davie 1st season

New Mexico St. DeWayne Walker 3-10

North Carolina Larry Fedora 1st season

N.C. State Tom O'Brien 5-7

North Texas Dan McCarney 5-7

N. Illinois Dave Doeren 11-3

Northwestern Pat Fitzgerald 4-8

Notre Dame Brian Kelly 8-5

Ohio Frank Solich 4-7

Ohio State Urban Meyer 1st season

Oklahoma Bob Stoops 7-5

Oklahoma St. Mike Gundy 4-7

Oregon Chip Kelly 10-3

Oregon State Mike Riley 3-8

Penn State Bill O'Brien 1st season

Pitt Paul Chryst 1st season

Purdue Danny Hope 5-7

Rice David Bailiff 3-9

Rutgers Kyle Flood 1st season

San Diego St. Rocky Long 8-5

San Jose St. Mike MacIntyre 1-12

SMU June Jones 1-11

S. Alabama Joey Jones 7-0*

South Carolina Steve Spurrier 7-5

South Florida Skip Holtz 8-5

Southern Miss Ellis Johnson 1st season

Stanford David Shaw 11-2

Syracuse Doug Marrone 4-8

TCU Gary Patterson 6-6

Temple Steve Addazio 9-4

Tennessee Derek Dooley 6-7

Texas Mack Brown 9-3

Texas A&M Kevin Sumlin 1st season

Texas State Dennis Franchione 6-6*

Texas Tech Tommy Tuberville 8-5

Toledo Matt Campbell 1st season

Troy Larry Blakeney 5-6#

Tulane Curtis Johnson 1st season

Tulsa Bill Blankenship 8-5

UAB Garrick McGee 1st season

UCLA Jim Mora Jr. 1st season

UNLV Bobby Hauck 2-11

USC Lane Kiffin 8-5

Utah Kyle Whittingham 7-5

Utah State Gary Andersen 4-8

UTEP Mike Price 8-4

UTSA Larry Coker 4-6*

Vanderbilt James Franklin 6-7

Virginia Mike London 4-8

Virginia Tech Frank Beamer 2-9

Wake Forest Jim Grobe 6-5

Washington Steve Sarkisian 5-7

Wash. State Mike Leach 1st season

West Virginia Dana Holgorsen 10-3

Western Kent. Willie Taggart 2-10

Western Mich. Bill Cubit 7-4

Wisconsin Bret Bielema 12-1

Wyoming Dave Christensen 7-6

* — Played as an FCS independent

# — Played as a Division II independent

Categories (3):Illini Sports, Football, Sports

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments