Our All-Big Ten ballot

Our All-Big Ten ballot

News-Gazette college football beat writer Bob Asmussen is once again helping to decide the All-Big Ten media team, which will be announced Monday night. Here are his choices:

First team
QB: Braxton Miller, Ohio State
RB: Montee Ball, Wisconsin
RB: Le’Veon Bell, Michigan State
WR: Allen Robinson, Penn State
WR: Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
TE: Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin
C: Travis Frederick, Wisconsin
G: Spencer Long, Nebraska
G: Andrew Norwell, Ohio State
T: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
T: Ricky Wagner. Wisconsin
K: Brendan Gibbons, Michigan

Second team
QB: Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
RB: Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
RB: Venric Mark, Northwestern
WR: Kenny Bell, Nebraska
WR: Antavian Edison, Purdue
TE: Dion Sims, Michigan State
C: James Ferentz, Iowa
G: Chris McDonald, Michigan State
G: Brian Mulroe, Northwestern
T: Jack Mewhort, Ohio State
T: Jeremiah Sirles, Nebraska
K: Mike Meyer, Iowa

First team
DL: Kawann Short. Purdue
DL: Eric Martin, Nebraska
DL: Jordan Hill, Penn State
DL: D.L. Wilhite, Minnesota
LB: Mike Taylor, Wisconsin
LB: Chris Borland, Wisconsin
LB: Michael Mauti, Penn State
DB: Micah Hyde, Iowa
DB: Travis Howard, Ohio State
DB: Daimion Stafford, Nebraska
DB: Landon Feichter, Purdue
Punter: Will Hagerup, Michigan

Second team
DL: Tyler Scott, Northwestern
DL: Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
DL: John Simon, Ohio State
DL: William Gholston, Michigan State
LB: Gerald Hodges, Penn State
LB: Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
LB: James Morris, Iowa
DB: Bradley Roby, Ohio State
DB: Ciante Evans, Nebraska
DB: Devin Smith, Wisconsin
DB: J.T. Floyd, Michigan
P: Mike Sadler, Michigan State

Offensive Player of the Year
1. Braxton Miller, Ohio State
2. Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
3. Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Defensive Player of the Year
1. Michael Mauti, Penn State
2. Mike Taylor, Wisconsin
3. Kawann Short, Purdue
Offensive Lineman of the Year
1. Taylor Lewan, Michigan
2. Travis Fredrick, Wisconsin
3. Spencer Long, Nebraska
Coach of the Year
1. Urban Meyer, Ohio State
2. Bill O’Brien, Penn State
3. Bo Pelini, Nebraska
Freshman of the Year
1. Aaron Burbridge, Michigan State
2. Dennis Norfleet, Michigan
3. Mason Monheim, Illinois  

Categories (3):Illini Sports, Football, Sports

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
CecilColeman wrote on November 25, 2012 at 6:11 pm

So how many of the two deep "All Big Ten Team" played high school ball in Illinois? Less than 5 of the 48, I'll wager.

Chief4Evr wrote on November 26, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Interesting to note that only Jason Monheim (Ohio) is the only Illinois player on either side of the ball and he is mentioned in the Freshman of the year category. This says a lot about the overall talent that Illinois had. Just glad this season is over.

On another subject, I am wondering what the new conference alignment will be. Here are my suggestions for what they are worth and please drop the "Legends" and "Leaders" names and change to East and West:

East:  Maryland, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Rutgers

West:  Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska and Wisconsin.

 I am sure there will be many opinions on the alignments but these are only suggestions and I tried to line up teams geographically as much as possible taking into consideration competitive balance.