Brown on Nagurski watch list

Brown on Nagurski watch list

CHAMPAIGN — Jonathan Brown picked up another preseason accolade on Thursday.

The Illinois senior linebacker was named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, the second watch list he was named to this week.

Earlier, Brown landed on the Bednarik Award watch list.

The Nagurski Trophy is given out by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America to the country’s best defensive player.

Players may be removed from the list during the season, and five finalists will be named on Nov. 21 before the award is handed out Dec. 9.

Brown is one of 81 players on the preseason watch list, which includes 13 players from the Big Ten.

Purdue defensive back Ricardo Allen, Penn State defensive lineman Deion Barnes, Wisconsin linebacker Chris Borland, Ohio State defensive back Christian Bryant, Michigan State linebacker Max Bullough, Michigan State defensive back Darqueze Dennard, Minnesota defensive lineman Ra’Shede Hageman, Iowa linebacker James Morris, Ohio State defensive back Bradley Roby, Michigan State defensive lineman Marcus Rush, Northwestern defensive lineman Tyler Scott and Ohio State linebacker Ryan Shazier join Brown on the list.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments