'83: A season to remember ... UI 33, Iowa 0

Catching up with ... Terry Cole

Illinois football wasn’t any good when Terry Cole first reported for duty. By the time he was a senior, however, the defensive lineman was headed to the Rose Bowl. We caught up with the four-year letter winner, now 51 and running his own wholesale supply company in Peoria, to chat up the rout of Iowa and the demise of the Memorial Stadium goal posts.

I didn’t like Iowa. They chop-blocked me and took my knee out when I was a freshman, so they held a special place in my heart. I hated them. That was the Hayden Fry era with the infamous pink locker rooms at Kinnick. They also had those tight ends who stood up, which was stupid. Our defensive line coach, John Teerlinck, didn’t have respect for tight ends. He told us they weren’t tough enough to be linemen and not fast enough to be receivers. He would say, “No defensive lineman of mine will ever be blocked by a tight end, especially one that is standing up.” We were conditioned never to be blocked by a tight end.

We beat them 33-0, but what was significant was they had first and goal late in the game and we really wanted the shutout. Teerlinck said, “If they score, you will run out the south end zone and keep running until the cows come home.” So we didn’t let them score.

Home games that year were crazy, almost like a bowl-game atmosphere. When we came in as freshmen as Mike White’s first recruiting class, Illinois had won like one game in three years. No one had experienced winning. So when the goal posts came down our senior year, that was all new to us, the intensity of the fans. I don’t know if there ever was another time like that. We were proud that what we did had the fans coming back.

Tatelines: Oct. 2, 1983

CHAMPAIGN — As a flourish to the sun-kissed halftime pageantry at colorful Memorial Stadium Saturday, hundreds of balloons were sent dancing from the green Astroturf into the clear blue sky.