Former Illini make Hall of Fame ballot

Former Illini make Hall of Fame ballot

Two former Illinois football players will be on this year's ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame. The 2014 class will be announced in May.

Dana Howard, the winner of the 1994 Butkus Award, is on the ballot for the first time. So is Simeon Rice, the No. 3 pick in the 1996 NFL draft and the Illinois career sack leader.

Howard is the school's career tackles leader. He gained notoriety in a 1994 game by guaranteeing a win against Ohio State. He then starred in the game, leading the Illini to a victory.

Rice is the school's career leader in sacks and tackles for loss. Not heavily recruited at Chicago Mount Carmel, he became a hit as a freshman and disrupted opposing offenses for four seasons.

If Howard or Rice gets the Hall call, they will become the first Illini honored since David Williams in 2005.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments