Rice, Howard not selected

Rice, Howard not selected

Illinois will have to wait at least another year to add to its collection of College Football Hall of Famers.

Dana Howard and Simeon Rice, who were on the ballot for the first time, were passed over by Hall voters this year. The class of 14 players and two coaches was announced Thursday in Irving, Texas.

The former Illini will continue to receive consideration in the future.

Lou Tepper, who coached Rice and Howard, thinks they will earn the honor.

“They deserve to be,” Tepper said.

He knew they could play when they first arrived on the Illinois campus. Both became All-Americans.

“It’s a great credit to them, to their families, to Illinois,” Tepper said. “Trust me, the Lord blessed me with great talent.”

The last Illini inducted was receiver David Williams in 2005.

The new Hall class includes two players from current Big Ten schools: Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz and Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan.

The list also featured NFL stars Tony Boselli (Southern Cal), Willie Roaf (Louisiana Tech), Sterling Sharpe (South Carolina), Derrick Thomas (Alabama) and LaDainian Tomlinson (TCU).

Elite company
Here is the list of former Illini in the College Football Hall of Fame:
Alex Agase    1963
Bob Blackman    1987
Al Brosky    1998
Dick Butkus    1983
Chuck Carney    1966
J.C. Caroline    1980
Pete Elliott    1993
Jim Grabowski    1995
Red Grange    1951
Edward Hall    1951
Bart Macomber    1972
Bernie Shively    1982
David Williams    2005
George Woodruff    1963
Buddy Young   1968
Bob Zuppke    1951



News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments