Small, UI golfers honored

Small, UI golfers honored

CHAMPAIGN — Coach Mike Small and the University of Illinois men’s golf team each earned an end-of-the-year honor from the UI Division of Intercollegiate Athletics on Wednesday.

The squad is the 2013-14 Team of the Year, while Small is the 2013-14 Coach of the Year after a vote by UI head coaches and athletic administrators. It is the first year for both awards.

The Illini earned their seventh consecutive berth in the NCAA tournament last month, the longest streak for a Northern school. The team finished fifth overall.

Prior to the national tournament, the Illini captured their second consecutive regional crown. Junior Brian Campbell was the tournament winner at the regional event.

Campbell and sophomores Charlie Danielson and Thomas Detry were first-team All-Big Ten selections this season as well.

Small has been with the program for 14 seasons and has led the squad to the national tournament nine times in 13 years.

Sections (3):Illini Sports, Golf, Sports

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments