Illinois Women's Gymnastics at the NCAA Regional 2012

Photos from  the NCAA Women's Gymnastics Regional Championship at the Assembly Hall in Champaign, IL.  Saturday, April 7, 2012.

Gymnasts fourpeat at Big Tens

IOWA CITY, Iowa — It wasn't perfect, but they'll take it. Justin Spring's Illinois men's gymnastics team claimed its fourth straight Big Ten championship, outlasting runner-up Penn State 352.950-350.000 on Friday at Iowa. The Nittany Lions are ranked No. 1 in the country.

High hopes for UI gymnasts

Gymnastics is in the Illini spotlight this weekend, with Kim Landrus' women hosting an NCAA regional meet on Saturday and Justin Spring's men in Iowa City on Friday and Saturday for the Big Ten Championships. A look at the major storylines, courtesy staff writer JEFF HUTH.

1. Feeling at home

Gymnast Mizoguchi dismissed

Tyler Mizoguchi, the defending NCAA champion in parallel bars, has been dismissed from the Illini men's gymnastics team.

Illini coach Justin Spring confirmed the dismissal Tuesday night but declined to say why the action was taken. "I'd rather not say anything more," Spring wrote in an e-mail to The News-Gazette.

Illini can't hold off Redbirds

NORMAL — Willie Argo and his Illinois teammates thought things were going their way in the first inning against Illinois State, but the Illini's fortunes changed quickly Tuesday.

Illini to host women's gymnastics regional

INDIANAPOLIS — Illinois will host an NCAA women's gymnastics regional at 4 p.m. April 7 at the Assembly Hall, the first time that has happened in program history.

"We are more than thrilled to be hosting one of the six NCAA regionals," UI coach Kim Landrus said.

Illini sweep Gophers in softball

URBANA — Pepper Gay threw a two-hit shutout in the opener and Kelley Wedel hit a walkoff RBI double in the nightcap to lead the streaking Illinois softball team to a Big Ten-opening doubleheader sweep of Minnesota on Saturday at Eichelberger Field.

Kravetz twirls another gem in baseball win

CARBONDALE — Freshman right-hander John Kravetz (3-0) allowed five hits, struck out four and didn't issue a walk in leading the Illinois baseball team to a 7-2 win against Northern Illinois on Saturday.

Illini soccer duo shares in U.S. title

PANAMA CITY —  Illinois midfielder Vanessa DiBernardo and coach Janet Rayfield helped the United States win the Under-20 CONCACAF Championship soccer title.

The U.S. U20 Women’s National Team was undefeated in five matches at the U20 FIFA World Cup Qualifying tournament, a run capped by a 2-1 victory against Canada on Sunday in the championship contest.

Abdelnour clinches thriller

URBANA — Dennis Nevolo, Roy Kalmanovich and Farris Gosea all won in straight sets to help the Illinois men's tennis team to a 4-3 win against Texas A&M on Sunday at the Atkins Tennis Center.

Bruno Abdelnour clinched the match for the Illini with his three-set victory.