Three-point project: Sun Belt

Three-point project: Sun Belt


Solomon Bozeman hit a game-winning three pointer with 1.5 seconds remaining to lift UALR to a 64-63 victory against North Texas in the Sun Belt tournament championship game on March 8, 2011, at Summit Arena in Hot Springs, Ark. Bozeman's three gave UALR its first SBC tournament title and first NCAA tournament appearance since 1990.


On Dec. 23, 1996, Chico Fletcher sank a shot near halfcourt to beat visiting Oklahoma State 56-53, the biggest win in the Dickey Nutt era.


Erik Benzel holds the Sun Belt Conference record with 323 three-pointers in his career. Perhaps the most important of those was in the 2005 Sun Belt Conference tournament against Western Kentucky. With 11 minutes to play, Denver was leading by a point when Benzel drilled a three-pointer, and the Pioneers cruised from there, earning their only appearance in an SBC championship game.


Earnest Crumbley hit a three-pointer that put FAU up five with 1:29 remaining in the 2002 Atlantic Sun championship game, lifting the Owls to their only NCAA tournament berth in school history.


On Feb. 28, 1989, with 1.2 seconds remaining in the game and trailing 91-89, Diego Garcia hit the game-winning three-point shot in a 92-91 victory against South Florida. It was the biggest win in school history in the seventh year of FIU basketball.


Earl Watkins nailed a 30-foot three-pointer — his school-record 10th of the game — at the buzzer to give the Ragin' Cajuns a 102-101 overtime win against Houston on Jan. 13, 1988. The shot capped a brilliant performance by Watkins, who made three triples in the final 1:39 to help the Cajuns rally from a 93-84 deficit and force overtime.


He is currently fourth on the school's career three-pointer list, but Larry Carr's best game came on Feb. 17, 1994, when he nailed nine treys against Texas-Arlington. Carr, who lettered three seasons, also hit eight three-pointers twice in his career.


On Feb. 12, 2000, Jonathan Whitworth hit a three-pointer with 1:03 to play in the fourth overtime against then-OVC rival Tennessee Tech to break a 101-101 tie and give the Blue Raiders the lead for good.


Calvin Watson's sixth and final three-pointer won the 2006-07 Sun Belt Conference tournament title game against Arkansas State, leading the Mean Green to its first NCAA tournament berth since 1988. Watson was named the tournament's MVP minutes later.


Jeff Hodge's desperation three lifted the Jaguars past Alabama 86-84 in the schools' first meeting, in the 1989 NCAA tournament. The Jaguars trailed by 16 at halftime but rallied to win their first and only NCAA tournament game.


On Jan. 12, 1992, Troy was Division II at the time and playing DeVry at home. The Trojans won 258-141 to become the only team in NCAA history (any division) to break 200 in a game. Troy made 51 three-pointers on 109 attempts. Steve Hunt's three-pointer put the Trojans over 200 points.


Ty Rogers' three-pointer from 25 feet beat the buzzer and gave the 12th-seeded Hilltoppers a 101-99 overtime win against fifth-seeded Drake in the first round of the 2008 NCAA tournament. The Hilltoppers went on to the Sweet 16 before losing to top-seeded UCLA.