Fri, June 6: UI athletes named All-Academic

Fri, June 6: UI athletes named All-Academic

   Thirty University of Illinois athletes were named to the Big Ten''s spring All-Academic Team, the conference announced Thursday.

   To be eligible, an athlete must be a letterwinner in at least their second semester and carry a career grade-point average of at least 3.0.

   Honored were:

    In baseball, Brian Hecht, Craig Marquie, Champaign''s Dan O''Neill, Danny Rhodes, Dusty Rhodes, Cody Salter and Tom Zidlicky.

    Men''s tennis: Oliver Freelove, Kevin Schwartz, Gavin Sontag and Jakub Teply.

    Women''s tennis: Jessica Klapper, Kara Loffelmacher, Laura Rydberg and Stacy Schapiro.

    Men''s track: Matt Klima, Brett Siglin, James Solberg, Matt Yesko and Jason Zieren.

    Women''s track: Maureen Clark, Allisa Gilliean, Jennifer Heise, Jennifer Marine, Sarah Meeks and Christine Smith.

    Men''s golf: Mark Henderson.

    Women''s golf: Andrea Crowell, Michelle Lin and Kourtney Mulcahy.

Sections (3):Illini Sports, Sports, Other