Armstrong bags award

Armstrong bags award

Illinois sophomore Sherman Armstrong, who took home two titles at last weekend's Big Ten Outdoor Track and Field Championships, was named the conference's Athlete of the Year.

Armstrong became the first Illini to win championships in the 110- and 400-meter hurdles. The Chicago native also qualified for Wednesday's NCAA Championships in both events.

Teammate Jason Van Swol was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year after running to asecond-place finish in the 800. He's also in action this week in Boise, Idaho.

Minnesota's Phil Lundin was the men's Coach of the Year.

The women's awards went to Wisconsin's Janelle Deatheradge (Athlete of the Year), Wisconsin's Erica Palmer (Freshman of the Year) and Purdue's Ben Paolillo (Coach of the Year).

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments