Bulletin Board: Central sets Hall class

Bulletin Board: Central sets Hall class

CHAMPAIGN — Olympic gold medalist Tyler McGill and former All-Area Volleyball Player of the Year Julie Leman Yoder will be inducted into the Champaign Central Athletic Hall of Fame on Oct. 13.
Receiving an honorary ‘C’ that night will be Hall of Fame boys’ basketball coach Lee Cabutti.
The ceremony at Jupiter at the Crossing features a social hour at 4:30 p.m., dinner at 6 and the program at 7. Reservations ($35, or $25 for non C-Club members) will be taken through Oct. 11 by mail to Randy Fonner, C-Club secretary-treasurer, 101 Sherry Lane, Attica, Ind., 47918-2007. Central athletic director John Woods can be reached at 217-351-5233 for reservations.
McGill, a 2006 graduate, was a four-sport letterman for the Maroons. Besides swimming, he also lettered in golf, cross-country and track and field. In all, he earned 11 varsity letters.
Leman Yoder was a standout setter in volleyball. She was a four-year letter winner, a two-time team MVP and a starter for three consecutive regional championship teams.
The Maroons were 85-26 during her prep career and set a school record with 32 wins her junior season. She set a state record for assists in a match (54) and graduated third on the IHSA charts for career assists (2,081). In college, she played for Olivet Nazarene University, which won back-to-back Christian school national titles.
McGill was a state placer 14 times for Central and holds two school records: 200-yard freestyle (1 minute, 38.85 seconds) and 100-yard backstroke (51.12). He was a three-time IHSA champion in the 200 free and also won the 100 back as a junior.
At Auburn University, he was a 10-time All-America swimmer and helped the Tigers win two NCAA event titles — in the 400-meter freestyle relay and 400 medley relay. He was an Olympic qualifier in 2012 in the 100-meter butterfly and was a member of the 400 medley relay team, becoming the third former Maroon athlete with an Olympic gold medal.

GCMS Hall selects members
GIBSON CITY — Two former athletes and one team were enshrined in the Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley Athletic Hall of Fame during last Friday’s 42-0 football win vs. Heyworth.
Jay Rhodes (1960 graduate) and Angie Fackler-Hill (1982 graduate) are new additions along with the 1971-72 boys’ basketball team, which was an Elite Eight qualifier and had a 24-4 record. Team captains were Ralph Rhodes and Glenn Hudson.
Others on the Jack Wright-coached team: Terry Acree, Scott Craig, Mike Foster, Dennis Graff, John Meredith, John Nettleton, Doug Roesch, Kim Schmidt, Dan Stacey and Andy Thomas. The assistant coaches were Ron Vyverberg and Mike Zebarth.
Jay Rhodes was a four-sport letterman who earned monograms in track and field (four), football (three), baseball (three) and basketball (two). He was a state qualifier and school record-setter in the shot put and discus. In football, Rhodes was an All-Wauseca Conference performer. He went on to earn six letters at Western Illinois University, covering football and track. He also spent 37 years as a football assistant at Sterling.
Fackler-Hill earned four letters each in basketball and volleyball. She was all-conference in both sports and lettered twice in track and field. She was the school’s first 1,000-point scorer and totaled 1,295, third among girls at GCMS.

Classic adds to its field
BLOOMINGTON — Three newcomers will join the 16-team small-school boys’ basketball field for December’s State Farm Classic. St. Thomas More and Prairie Central will join Rockford Lutheran as the latest entries to compete.
Already in the small-school boys’ field are Cissna Park and St. Joseph-Ogden.
In the girls’ small-school division, the lone new team is Prairie Central. SJ-O and St. Thomas More are among the returnees.
There’s also a 16-team field for the large-school boys’ and girls’ teams. Centennial’s boys’ and girls’ teams return. Mahomet-Seymour’s boys’ team is also back.

Soccer playoffs start Friday
The Fisher/GCMS cooperative soccer team will play at 4 p.m. Friday at Unity in the first regional match for Class 1A area teams. They are part of the Uni High Regional. The Illineks earned the No. 1 seed over St. Thomas More.
Other area top 1A seeds are St. Joseph-Ogden (at Schlarman), Blue Ridge (at Bloomington Central Catholic) and Monticello (at Monticello).
Championship matches at each area site — except Uni High — will be Oct. 13. The Uni High Regional will conclude Oct. 12 with a 4 p.m. match at the UI turf field.
In Class 2A, Urbana earned the No. 1 seed for the Champaign Central Regional, which starts Oct. 12 with Hoopeston Area/Bismarck-Henning playing at Danville. The Maroons open with Centennial on Oct. 16, and there will be a different outcome than when the squads played Monday to a 0-0 scoreless draw.

Central player visits NIU
CHAMPAIGN — Champaign Central junior Kameron Rowan made a campus visit to Northern Illinois last weekend at the invitation of the Huskies’ basketball program.
Rowan is a 6-foot point guard who started last season for a Maroons sophomore team that went 21-3 and finished first in the Big 12. He also played for the sophomore team as a freshman.
Rowan has extensive experience in Amateur Athletic Union basketball and recently was invited to work out with the Chicago area-based Illinois Wolves AAU club.
NIU is rebuilding under Mark Montgomery, who went 5-26 last season in his first year as Huskies head coach.

Jeff Huth and Fred Kroner