Saturday's highlights: Salt Fork boys claim BSN crown

Saturday's highlights: Salt Fork boys claim BSN crown

In boys’ basketball
BSN Classic
Salt Fork 60, Clifton Central 55.
Cole Taylor scored eight of his team-high 16 points in the fourth quarter to help the Storm hold off Clifton Central in the championship game. Salt Fork received all of its points from four players, including Max Stutsman (15), Heritage site MVP Ross Learnard (15) and Alec Dutton (14).

Decatur Lutheran 63, Watseka 58. Gabe Duby and Austin Blair combined for 26 points for Watseka, which fell short in the third-place game. Blair and teammate Daulton DePatis were named to the all-tourney team.

Shiloh 53, Schlarman 42. Shiloh bolted out to an 18-7 lead after one quarter and stayed in control to win the fifth-place game. Andrew Donithan racked up 23 points for the Raiders. Austin Calhoun led the Hilltoppers with 18 points.

Heritage 51, Bismarck-Henning 45. The Hawks held off the Blue Devils in the seventh-place game behind a balanced attack led by Jordan Wolf’s 14 points. John Taylor (12) and Brandon Richardson (11) also scored in double figures for Heritage. B-H’s Austin Toler, the B-H site MVP, scored 14 of his game-high 19 points in the second half.

Oakwood 52, Villa Grove 30. Skyler Slade and Kyle Elliott scored 20 and 15 points, respectively, for the Comets in the ninth-place game. Noah Palmer led VG with eight points.

Georgetown-Ridge Farm 54, Grant Park 33. Kyle Coburn scored all 17 of his points in the first three quarters and Aaron Scott added 15 points, leading the Buffaloes in the 11th-place game.

Tri-County Holiday Tournament
Arthur-Lovington 63, Paris 41.
The Knights held Paris to 14 first-half points and rolled to victory in the championship game. Tyler Schuring and tournament MVP Curtis Plank scored 17 and 16 points, respectively, for A-L. Schuring and teammate Andrew Maxwell joined Plank on the all-tournament team.

Westville 63, Stewardson-Strasburg 36. Layn White scored 16 points and four teammates contributed at least nine points for Westville in the third-place game. Robert Elliott of the Tigers was named to the all-tournament team.

Tri-County 60, Cumberland 48. Tri-County outscored Cumberland 20-9 in the third quarter to take control in the seventh-place game. Luke Clapp scored 19 points and Wyatt Flesner added 15 for T-C.

Pinckneyville Holiday Classic
Unity 51, Trenton Wesclin 50.
The Rockets rallied from a 10-point deficit after three quarters to pull out the win. Matt Restad had a double-double (18 points, 10 rebounds) for Unity.

Teutopolis 75, Unity 55. The Wooden Shoes shot 60 percent (15 of 25) in the second half in defeating the Rockets. ZACH THORSON scored 14 points and COLBY MUMM added 13 for Unity.

Collinsville Holiday Classic
Riverview Gardens 72, Urbana 69.
The Tigers were outscored 18-11 in the second quarter and couldn’t recover in the loss. Donald McKinley and Shimaaz Ivy scored 17 points apiece for Urbana, and Troy McBride added 14.

Team Soy Holiday Tournament
Central A&M 67, Bement 59.
All-tournament selection Connor Gross scored a game-high 28 points and Tyce Rittenhouse added 18 for Bement in the third-place game.

Argenta-Oreana 46, Cerro Gordo 45. Gage Eller scored 17 points to help rally the Bombers from a nine-point halftime deficit. Nathan Lovekamp, an all-tournament choice, led CG with 14 points. Keegan McHood of A-O also made the all-tourney team.

Arthur Okaw Christian Tourney
Arthur Okaw Christian 56, Lakeshore 53.
Austin Helmuth sank four three-pointers and scored 15 points to lead the host team to victory in the title game. AOC outscored Lakeshore 36-20 in the middle two quarters.

Arthur Okaw Christian 59, Cono Christian 56. Adam Beachy hit four three-pointers and scored 16 points for AOC in a semifinal win.

In girls’ basketball
Peoria Manual Tournament
Danville 37, Peoria Central 28.
Alexus Jimson-Miller scored eight of her game-high-tying 16 points in the first quarter to propel the Vikings to the win.

Schlarman 64, Lincoln 63. The Hilltoppers rallied from a 28-20 halftime deficit to edge Lincoln. Sierra Bell scored 23 points and Janelle Marion added 20 for Schlarman, which overcame 14-of-39 free throw shooting.

Okaw Valley Holiday Tourney
Mount Pulaski 62, Clinton 56.
All-tourney pick JESSICA SCOTT had 16 points for the Maroons in their title-game loss.

Shelbyville 49, Argenta-Oreana 45. The Bombers lost despite four three-pointers and a game-high 26 points from Kandie Bloch.

Tri-County 51, Taylorville JV 40. Autumn Meyer scored 16 points for Tri-County, which received at least four points from eight players.

Arthur-Lovington/Atwood-Hammond 62, Blue Ridge 31. Alex Miller (15) and Ashley Tabb (14) led a balanced scoring attack that carried the Lancers to the win. Blue Ridge’s Jamison Brandt scored 21 of her game-high 25 points in the first three quarters.

Teutopolis JV 54, Heritage 25. Mary Happ and Dallas McCormick combined for 19 points for Heritage.

Momence Holiday Tournament
PBL 42, Peotone 41.
The Panthers outscored Peotone 23-18 in the second half to win the championship game. AMANDA Ypya and Erin Lemley scored 10 points apiece for PBL.

PBL 79, Tri-Point 46. Ypya racked up 26 points and three other Panthers scored in double figures in an earlier victory.

Dieterich Holiday Tournament
Arcola 51, Dieterich 45.
All-tournament selection TaylOr Edwards scored 24 points to lead the Purple Riders to victory in the third-place game.

Mattoon Holiday Tournament
Mahomet-Seymour 51, Mattoon 39.
The Bulldogs outscored Mattoon 36-21 in the second half to pull away to the win. All-tournament selection Maggie Schmidt scored 18 points for M-S. The Bulldogs’ Kristen Belyea (11 points) also made the all-tournament team.

Arthur Okaw Christian tourney
Mountain Top 40, Arthur Okaw Christian 25.
Audrey Henningsen scored eight points for AOC.

Tower Grove 30, Arthur Okaw Christian 27. Kami Taber and Elizabeth Urbeck combined for 15 points for the Conquering Riders.

In wrestling
At Champaign.
GCMS/Fisher edged 18th-ranked Olympia 42-40 in the seventh-place match of the St. Thomas More Invitational at Huff Hall. Hunter Lowry (113 pounds), Cameron Schwing (120), Dylan Donner (126) and Chet McClure (138) had first-period pins for the Falcons.

At Argenta. Argenta-Oreana, with 10 wrestlers finishing among the top four, won the 16-team Bomber Classic. Nate Jozsa (132) and Brock Elliott (152) earned titles for A-O.

Comments embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments