Bulletin board: Honors for ex-Maroon Beach

Bulletin board: Honors for ex-Maroon Beach

Honors for ex-Maroon Beach

CHAMPAIGN — Ted Beach, who starred on Champaign High School's 1946 state championship basketball team, is the only former area player on the list of charter members for the inaugural Pinckneyville-based Illinois High School Basketball Hall of Fame inductees. Sixty individuals will be enshrined in the Nov. 5 ceremony at Memorial Stadium.

Beach is one of 18 selections who are former UI basketball players: Nick Anderson, Lou Boudreau, Bruce Brothers, Ted Caiazza, Bruce Douglas, Dave Downey, Dike Eddleman, Max Hooper, Mannie Jackson, Paul Judson, Marcus Liberty, Don Ohl, Johnny Orr, Andy Phillip, Harv Schmidt, Bill Small and Govoner Vaughn.

After playing for the Illini, Schmidt also had a seven-year stint as the UI head coach when he won 89 of 166 games. Downey, a Canton native, ranks 19th on the all-time Illini scoring charts with 1,360 points.

Tickets are $50 per person. Dick Corn can be contacted at 618-357-5205 for information.

Soccer stars make all-state

Four area athletes were chosen to the Illinois High School Soccer Coaches Association all-state boys' soccer team: Urbana Uni High junior midfielder George Voulgaris; Centennial midfielder Lonnie Barnes; Central midfielder Julio Zarco; and Blue Ridge senior forward J.J. Malone, the area scoring leader.

Seventeen area athletes received all-sectional laurels, including senior goalkeepers Julian Threlkeld of Urbana and Ryan Reitmeier of Unity. Others: Conner Builta (Blue Ridge); Peter Mehnert (Centennial); Emanuel Komba and Kanye Sayon (Central); Weston Depratt and Zach Downing (Danville); Jordan Sizemore (Fisher/GCMS); BreNnen Kraft (Mahomet-Seymour); Jacob Hanselman (Monticello); Ben Winn (Unity); Miguel Fierro, Will Gibbens and Jonathan Lukusa (Urbana); Tarik Koric and Patrick Wong (Urbana Uni High).

IBOA anniversary banquet set

CHAMPAIGN — The Champaign-based Illini Basketball Officials Association will celebrate its 25th year of existence with a Thursday banquet at Jupiter's at the Crossing. The five charter members will be honored: Sam Banks, Howard Owens, Roger Quinlan, Joe Tomlinson and Bill Vangel. Since the association began, 34 members have been selected to officiate state tournament games.

Two Maroons nominated

CHAMPAIGN — Two Champaign Central senior football players were nominated for the Rudy Awards. The Maroons' candidates are linebacker Julian Anastasia and offensive lineman Joe Chapman. Twelve finalists from throughout the country will be selected. A national selection committee and fan voting help to determine the winners. Information is available at http://www.highschoolrudyawards.com/ and the award is in honor of football legend Daniel "Rudy" Ruettiger.

Boys face sectional hurdle

FORSYTH — Saturday's sectional races will determine which area teams and individuals qualify for the cross-country state finals. There will not be a tougher boys' sectional than at Decatur St. Teresa's Hickory Point Golf Course.

The top four teams in the final dyestat.com state rankings are in contention for the five team berths available for state. Monticello (first), Unity (second), Mount Zion (third) and St. Thomas More (fourth) are the elite teams.

Nine of the top 16 ranked runners are set to compete at Hickory Point in the 11 a.m. boys' race. At stake are five individual qualifying spots that go to runners whose teams do not advance to state.

The list of potential front-runners includes Monticello's Steve Schroeder, a senior whose regional time (15:11) was second among the 12 regionals that ran a 3-mile course. Mount Zion's Jake Brown (third), Robinson's Blake Hall (fifth), Unity's Scott Woodard (seventh), Mount Zion's Joe Fritzche (eighth), St. Joseph-Ogden's Zeke Elkins (10th), Schlarman's Jesse Hahne (11th), Monticello's Luke Zocher (15th) and St. Thomas More's Nick Hess (16th) are the other highly regarded runners.

Hickory Point also is the site of a 2A sectional, with girls running at noon and boys at 1 p.m.

In 3A, Danville's qualifiers will compete in the Quincy Sectional. The boys will run at 11:30 a.m.

Girls' competition intensifies

FORSYTH — There will be no shortage of individual challengers in Saturday's Class 1A girls' cross-country sectional race at Hickory Point Golf Course. Of the top 15 ranked runners in the final state poll, eight have qualified for the same sectional, including two of the three athletes to break 18 minutes in 3-mile regional runs.

Top-ranked Chelsea Blaase of St. Joseph-Ogden (17:52.4) and second-rated McKayla Harder of Mount Zion (17:55) headline the field. St. Teresa, the No. 1 girls' team, will have three of the top 15 ranked runners. Other contenders are Hoopeston Area's Lauren Houmes (10th), St. Thomas More's Theresa Welle (12th) and Mount Zion's Megan Bailey (15th).

The girls' 1A race will start at 10 a.m. At noon at the same site, area Class 2A qualifiers will seek their state berths. In Class 3A, Danville's sectional qualifiers will run at 10:30 a.m. at Quincy.

Fred Kroner


News-Gazette.com embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. We reserve the right to remove any comment at our discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments