Teams of the Week: Danville girls' tennis in spotlight

Teams of the Week: Danville girls' tennis in spotlight


The Big 12 champion Vikings ran the table in doubles. Rachael and Becca Lewis prevailed at No. 1 doubles, as did Amy Shah and Neha Patel at No. 2 and Courtney Hart and Taylor Ellis at No. 3. Shah, Ellis, Patel and Hart were each triumphant in singles as coach Mark Bacys’ team extended its streak of Big 12 titles to three.


The top-ranked (Class 1A) Sabers were the only school in the field of 34 full teams with three top-10 runners and were the runaway winners in the Amboy Invitational. Coach David Behm’s scoring runners finished the 3-mile course within 59 seconds of one another. Nick Hess was the runner-up, followed by Jacob Helfrich (seventh), Sean Kelley (eighth), Sam Powers (14th) and Brendan Remington (23rd).


Individual runner-up Jonathan Schaap led the seventh-ranked Bulldogs to team honors in the 21-school Metamora Runnin’ Red Invitational by a point over sixth-rated Normal U-High. The five M-S scoring runners finished within 68 seconds of one another. Other standouts for coach Neal Garrison’s team were Forrest Smoes (fourth), Ethan Russell (11th), Alex Keeble (15th) and James Williams (32nd).


Coach John Klaber’s Cornjerkers (12-7-1) capped their fourth consecutive Vermilion Valley Conference championship (and sixth in seven years) by overpowering Salt Fork 5-1. In eight league matches this season, Hoopeston/B-H outscored the competition by a 34-1 composite score. Chase Bouse scored three goals against Salt Fork. Ryan Morgan earned a shutout later in the week during a 6-0 win against Iroquois West.


The Titans (26-2 with 23 consecutive wins) continued their dominance of Little Okaw Valley Conference teams. Coach Drew Robertson’s team won its fourth LOVC tournament title in five years. All of its LOVC wins this season — seven in the regular season and three in the tournament — were in two-set sweeps. Lizzy Barnard had 11 kills, Kyla Skinner seven and Heidi Dague six in the title-match win against Arthur-Lovington.